Americans For Truth About Homosexuality A Gay Rights Organization???

(I’ve also posted this at Joe Brummer’s site and have been asked to post it at Tiny Queer Footballs)

***I have to admit that I made a mistake by republishing some material from the GuideStar website.  Below was an email I sent to Guidestar.  Anyone can see the information for free at www.guidstar.org.  They just cannot republish it as I did.  I have taken the information off this blog, although as I said, anyone can see this information for free.   

 

***UPDATE BELOW***

I see on a couple of websites that Americans for Truth is attacking a 16 year old for writing about the truth that sits behind the Americans for Truth. Well, I’ve just done a bit of background checking about this group and found out some interesting things.

 

I didn’t realize that the actual name for Americans for Truth is Americans for Truth about Homosexuality. I suppose that is what AFTAH stands for, but why don’t they put their full title in their website? I think when this group is mentioned the full legal title should be used. What also really made me angry is that when I looked this organization up in GuideStar (a source of information about non-profit organizations), their ‘National Taxonomy of Exempt Entities,’ code is R26–Lesbian/Gay Rights.  These NTEE codes are used to help people search for non-profit organizations.  And get this–this code of R26 is used for "R20 Civil Rights, Advocacy for Specific Groups"! So Americans for Truth about Homosexuality claim to be a civil rights group for lesbians and gays!

The section for R26 is reserved for: "Organizations that support the passage and enforcement of laws and other social measures that protect and promote the rights and interests of individuals who are gay, lesbian, bisexual, or transgendered."

 

It is an outrage that "Americans for Truth" is listed under this category!!!  So much for Americans for Truth…

I’ve just sent two emails to the National Center for Charitable Statistics (nccs@ui.urban.org) and GuideStar (customerservice@guidestar.org) about this:

 

To whom it may concern,

I was just doing a bit of checking on a group called "Americans for Truth about Homosexuality" in GuideStar.  To my horror, I see that the Americans for Truth about Homosexuality has as its NTEE code R26, which is for Lesbian/Gay Rights.  Here is the entry in GuideStar for AFTAH:

***(It gives the title for AFTAH, the address; it states that it is a 501(c) (3) public charity and that its code is R26–a gay and lesbian rights organization)*** 

Americans for Truth about Homosexuality is actively against gays and lesbians and is no way, shape or form, a group that protects the rights of people who are gay!  Can someone please, please do something to correct this.  AFTAH is not an organization for truth–it is an organization about lies!

Sincerely,

Dr. Kevin Kaatz

 

***Update–I’ve received emails from both Guidestar and Center on Nonprofits and Philanthropy.  A Guidestar service representative said "The codes are selected by either the organizations themselves or by the IRS."  The CNP thanked me for bringing it to their attention, but no response as to what they can/might do about changing that code.  I’ll try digging around in the IRS website to see who I might email about this.  As far as I can tell, the IRS attaches these codes.  But as it stands, the Americans For Truth About Homosexuality is listed, as a non-profit organization, along side the Lambda Legal Defense and Education Fund, The Gay and Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation and The National Gay and Lesbian Task Force, as a group that defends gay and lesbian rights.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Americans For Truth About Homosexuality A Gay Rights Organization???

  1. Stefan says:

    Hi Kevin!
     
    In my own (new) blog (in German language) I published an articel about the AFTAH and talked about the Folsom Street Fair. I linked to this articel of your blog to give my readers some background informations about the AFTAH. I hope it\’s OK that I did so.
     
    G,
     
    Stefan 

  2. Kevin says:

    Hey Stefan,
    Thanks for the link!  Sorry I didn\’t see your message sooner.
    Take care,
    Kevin
     

  3. Loverman says:

    Hi kevin. Im gay from Puerto Rico. We have here a gay hater named Milton Picon. Do u know any organization to protest for him? My msn loverman37@live.com

  4. Kevin says:

    Hey Loverman,
    I will certainly look into him!  I am betting he is the same as all these people here…

Leave a Reply

