John Edwards is a coward

A couple of weeks ago the John Edwards campaign (for president) hired two liberal bloggers to run his blog.  Because they are liberal, they made a good target for the fundamentalists.  I just read that one of them, Amanda Marcotte, from pandagon.net, quit over the uproar

She, of course, can quit if she wants to.  But Edwards doesn’t have the guts to stick up for her.  The problem?  Amanda Marcotte tells it like it is.  She is liberal, after all, so you would expect her to comment on things that the conservatives comment on. 

It is worth reading her comments:

Unfortunately, Bill Donohue and his calvacade of right wing shills don’t respect that a mere woman like me could be hired for my skills, and pretended that John Edwards had to be held accountable for some of my personal, non-mainstream views on religious influence on politics (I’m anti-theocracy, for those who were keeping track). Bill Donohue—anti-Semite, right wing lackey whose entire job is to create non-controversies in order to derail liberal politics—has been running a scorched earth campaign to get me fired for my personal beliefs and my writings on this blog.

Bill Donahue runs the Catholic League–and may be in trouble with the IRS for his political comments–I hope they throw his ass in jail!  Besides, his puny organization only brought in 2.7 million last year, while he was paid over $330,000!  Who is really benefitting from this Catholic League?  This sounds like your typical non-profit–someone is certainly making some cash!  Boy, I think I am going to have to start my own non-profit…

And I absolutely love her last comment:

Another thing—this has doubled my committment to reaching out and helping highlight when the religious left fights the right wingers who have falsely claimed to speak for all religious people.

I can’t wait to hear what she has to say…

 

Edwards is a coward for not standing up for Amanda and her right to free speech.  And Edwards really should have considered the thought that it won’t be people like Donahue and the people who follow him who would vote for him anyway, regardless of what he does or says.  Someone like me could have voted for him, but now there is no chance in hell.  Sorry Edwards, you had your chance a couple of years ago.  My vote will be going to Obama and Clinton, at least for now (but definitely not for Edwards, and if anyone talks about him within earshot, I’m going to tell them all about this little episode). 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

