Poetry

Maybe because it is Valentines Day and our 15th anniversary, but I am feeling a bit sappy today.  Most days I feel like that, but I keep it under control unless I see a sad commercial!  🙂

About a month ago I wrote about how Doug and I met at the University of Michigan, so you will have to listen to some of this again…  At our party we had after we exchanged rings, two friends gave us a book called The Name of Love:  Classic Gay Love Poems, ed. by M. Lassell. 

This is my all time favorite poem.  A couple of years ago I took Doug out for his birthday and on a small card I copied this out and he still carries it around in his wallet:

Miracle

If time holds a miracle

we’ll dance together

as two old men:

sunstroke scalps

dropped buttocks, watery thighs.

But our hands

how our bony, veiny, trembling hands

will find their partners

palm to palm, fingers rung round each other

and hold on tight

tight.

Dance me across the floor.

I’ll stay with you

if time holds a miracle.

I think I also mentioned too that way back in high school, in Mrs. Brundage’s English class, we had to memorize a sonnet by Shakespeare and say it out loud in class.  I was terrified and only remember staring at Tom Tomacheskie as I said it–not because I was projecting the (then hidden!) meaning of this sonnet, but because I didn’t know where else to look!  it is funny how all these years later I still know this by heart and it wasn’t until a couple of years ago when the meaning dawned on me. 

Sonnet 29

When in disgrace with Fortune and men’s eyes,

I all alone beweep my outcast state,

And trouble deaf heaven with my bootless cries,

And look upon myself and curse my fate,

Wishing me like to one more rich in hope,

Featured like him, like him with friends possessed,

Desiring this man’s art and that man’s scope,

With what I most enjoy contented least–

Yet in these thoughts myself almost despising,

Haply I think on thee, and then my state,

Like to the lark at break of day arising

From sullen earth, sings hymns at heaven’s gate.

For thy sweet love remembered such wealth

brings

That then I scorn to change my state with kings.

I don’t remember if I had to choose one, or if we all did the same one. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

