Beautiful weather and the garden

Once again it is a beautiful day here in San Francisco.  Right now it is 75 and sunny.  Not too bad for the middle of March!  Anyway, this nice weather is putting me into a gardening mood.  Last weekend I cleaned away some of the weeds that had popped up after the latest rain.  Lots and lots of things are flowering right now (the yellow flowers to the right/middle of the picture are the bok choi flowering) and I just read in the paper that now is the time to be planting marigolds and other flowers.  Before someone stole my gigantic cosmos I managed to clip off some seed, so I should try and grow some of that as well.  I might pop down to the garden shop and pick up some fine garden soil and start a bunch.  Last year the snails and/or slugs ate my marigolds, so this year I’ll have to do something a bit different (I’m not sure what though!).  Here are a few pictures from the front I just took:

This entry was posted in garden. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Beautiful weather and the garden

  1. Laura says:

    I love these pictures!  It looks so beautiful there.  I am soooo jealous.  I can\’t wait for spring to arrive here.  I checked
    today and I have tulips coming up but it is still cold.

  2. elizabeth says:

    Garden looks great Kevin !Here is a hint besides buying in and laying down gravel/stones to stop slugs and snails is the collect all your egg shells , crush then up and place around your fav plants .slugs and snails wont slither/slime*  over it as it cuts them , cant think off hand what else I have heard about something to dry them out ( besides salt lol )If I remember will post to let you know Take Care and as always Have Fun

  3. Kevin says:

    Hey Tink!  Thanks–I\’ll have to remember that tip with the eggshells.  I\’ll start keeping them (luckily Doug likes to eat lots of eggs!).

  4. Kevin says:

    Hey Laura!  It is beautiful here–you\’ll have to come and see it soon!  🙂

Leave a Reply

