Time For A Holiday!

I am so ready for a real holiday.  We haven’t taken one since moving back to the U.S. in Sept. 2005.  I’m not sure if we are going to take one this year or not…

But thinking of one makes me think of our best holiday ever–a month in Europe in 2004, but after I turned in my Ph.D. dissertation!  I turned it in the end of June, and we left the beginning of August.  We flew from Sydney to Rome on Singapore Airlines, and that was one fantastic airline.  Each seat in cattle class had its own screen and you controlled what you wanted to watch.  There were about 100 shows, plus music, plus video games.

Anyway, we landed in Rome when it was having that horrible heat wave.  It was about 100 the day we arrived.  We then went to Naples for four days and then flew to Amsterdam.  After four days, we took the train to Paris and spent a week there, then flew to Barcelona for nearly a week, and then a day or two in Rome, and on the way back we spent three days in Singapore.  It was a perfect holiday.

Here are some pictures from that trip (these are all of Doug):

(here is a very sweaty Doug on the Top of St. Peter’s Basilica)

Doug and the Roman Forum

(Pantheon, Rome)

Doug in Paris

(A gargoyle on Notre Dame Cathedral overlooking Paris)

Amsterdam:

Not sure where our pictures are of Barcelona!  I’ll have to go searching from them.

Originally we were thinking about going back to Europe, but people keep telling us how nice Mexico is.  So that might be a possibility…

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Time For A Holiday!

  1. Laura says:

    Now I want to go to Rome!!  The pictures are awesome.  I would love to see Patheon.  I\’ll have to see all your pictures one of these days.  I know, I know-I can see them when I come to visit!

Leave a Reply

