The Anti-Gay movement

I just read a good post over at Joe Brummer’s site and it made me realize how alike some gay people are in terms of what they think about.  I have often been so mad that people like Stacy Harp and Peter LaBarbera have devoted their lives to making the lives of gay and lesbian people miserable.  They paint a sweeping brush that makes it appear that one gay person is exactly like all the rest.  It shows me how little these people know about human behavior.  It is stupid.  It is like saying that the child molester’s behavior who I just read about in the paper who abused his step-daughter can be seen in all other straight male’s behavior–they are all child molesters.  It is like saying that the straight guy who killed his wife is like all the other straight men out there–they are all immoral killers.  You can see how ridiculous it sounds, and you can see that it sounds just like what Stacy Harp and Peter LaBarbera write about on nearly a daily basis.

But it still makes me mad that I have to take the time to defend myself and others from attacks from the likes of them.

I just left a comment at Joe’s blog and I’ll post it here, since I have been thinking about this ‘problem’ for a while now:

 

I too find it interesting to read about my life in the paper/blogs/news. But I’ve decided that I am a good person. Doug and I just celebrated our 15th anniversary. We are good people, good neighbors, and good family members. I don’t spend my life attacking groups of people like Stacy Harp and Peter LaBarbera and Matt Barber. For that I am thankful. I do spend quite a bit of time defending, but that is different from attacking, and I will continue to do this until I don’t have to.

I have also decided that when people like Stacy Harp and Peter LaBarbera attack gay people for being disgusting, immoral, and unhealthy, they speak with the same voice that once said that black people are dirty, stupid and will attack the daughters of white people. They speak with the same voice that said the Jew was dirty, disgusting and needed to be gotten rid of. They speak with the same voice that drove the Native Americans from their land and threw them into reservations, ‘for their own good.’ They can deny it all they want and shout and stop that they aren’t like that, but they are. They are the same.

And I have also decided that history will look back at Peter LaBarbera and Stacy Harp like they like back at those who spoke out against black people getting equal rights.
The good always wins out in the end. And that is something I don’t doubt at all.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

