Someone named ‘John’ is Stealing my Comments

I am not very happy right now.  I was just reading Mark’s blog, Chesterstreet, and to my utter surprise, someone named ‘John’ had ‘written’ something that sounded like something that I wrote yesterday.  I checked my posting from yesterday, and sure enough, ‘John’ had taken what I had written in my blog and posted it at Chesterstreet under ‘John’!  This is what he had written.  I have bolded and underlined what he/she changed:

 

John said…

"It is a ‘community’ that wants the foundation of the traditional family completely destroyed. The very foundation that is the cornerstone for any society."
I keep forgetting that it’s my duty as a gay man is to utterly destroy the ‘traditional family.’ Despite the fact that the traditional family has changed every so often, I assume this screed is about a man, a woman, and a child. That hardly exists today and straight people are to blame. Divorce is rampant and that has nothing to do with gays and lesbians wanting to get married. This is as bad as a racist thinking that to allow a black person to vote ruins a white vote. And "To Marry" does not belong to a religion. Sorry. Facts are facts.

7/13/2007 9:27 AM

This is what I had written on July 12, at 2:38:

 

2.  I forgot that my duty as a gay man is to utterly destroy the ‘traditional family.’  Despite the fact that the traditional family has changed every so often, I assume this author is talking about a man, a woman, and a kid.  That hardly exists today and straight people are to blame.  Divorce is rampant and that has nothing to do with gays and lesbians wanting to get married.  This is as bad as a racist thinking that to allow a black person to vote ruins a white vote.  And "To Marry" does not belong to a religion.  Sorry.  Facts are facts. 

I can’t believe that someone would take my comments from my blog and post them under another name.  To whoever this John is–grow up.  You plagiarized my comments, plain and simple.  You changed a few words around, but that is not enough to claim them as your own.  The whole reason I wrote this post was to NOT put my comments on Mark’s blog.  I had too much to say.  You had no right to take my words.  If you can’t think of your own comments to someone else’s post, then that is your problem.  It would have been different if you had quoted my words and given me credit, but you didn’t.  I’ve let Mark know about you, so hopefully he will be able to track you down and then let me know who you are.  Mark and I have a decent relationship and I won’t stand by while someone tries to wreck it.  I could care less if you are gay, straight or otherwise–you are a plagiarizer and if you were one of my students, I would kick you out of my class for plagiarism.  Now go think of something to say, all on your own.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Someone named ‘John’ is Stealing my Comments

  1. Deb says:

    Whoa, he took it word for word? Even so!   I have a "Jon" on my site that stole an article from a very well known website.   Although he spells his name differently, I don\’t know if those two are the same.   Doesn\’t matter, if he has no words of his own, he probably has no mind of his own.  I absolutely detest plagiarism…it\’s scary, especially when you\’re an author of a blog (like yourself) with strong opinions and facts to back up your stories as well as being an author of a book.   (Which NG will let you know how well or not so well I\’m doing with that!)  hehe…  Regardless, copying is the coward\’s way out.  Don\’t sweat it. 

  2. Kevin says:

    Hey Deb!  Yep, it is the cowar\’s way out. I have a feeling that person was trying to get Mark and I into an argument.  Mark saw that it was my words.  Hopefully it doesn\’t happen again!

Leave a Reply

