Gay Marriage in California

Well, not yet.  But it will happen.  The State Legislature passed a bill that would make it legal for gays and lesbians to get married.  It won’t be law until our governor signs it, but that probably won’t happen.  Schwarzenegger will probably veto it like he did last year.  He says that the amendment to the state constitution from 2004 means that marriage must remain a man and a woman (at least until the State Supreme Court looks at this).  Oh well.  I will say this–the governor is the most gay-friendly republican that I know and if I am going to live in a state that has a Republican governor, I want it to be the Terminator. 

And speaking of gay marriage and domestic partnerships, I just saw an article in the S.F. Chronicle on how the state of California hasn’t quite worked out how it will manage gay and lesbian couples filing joint taxes for next year, especially since the federal government is not allowing same-sex couples to file jointly.  All I can say is that they better figure it out soon, because I am looking forward to filing jointly with Doug for the first time in 15 years! 

And speaking of gay California, I was walking home yesterday from feeding my friend Brian’s fish and I walked by a guy on 18th Street, very near Castro Street.  He was talking on the phone to someone and he was excitedly telling his friend that he can see men walking around holding hands and kissing in public without fear.  He must have just arrived.  I couldn’t help but smile at him and realize that I am lucky to be living in such a great neighborhood!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gay Marriage in California

  1. Rob says:

    Arnie should listen to his wife and sign it.  I think it\’s obvious that most Californians either want equality or at worst – don\’t care one way or the other. 

  2. Kevin says:

    I agree. But I don\’t think he wants to be the Republican who does it!  Unfortunately he is in office for the next couple of years.  There is still some hope with the State Supreme Court… 

Leave a Reply

