Busy, Busy, Busy

It has been a couple of days since I last posted.  It has been busy here.  Our friend Chris is arriving from Switzerland on Monday and I am trying to make sure I am a week ahead on all of my lectures so that I can spend some time with him while he is here!  I also start teaching at California State University and today I had an all day series of workshops, so that was nice to go to.  I didn’t see anyone from my department, but I did meet lots of other people.  And it was pure luck that just after I picked up my keys for my office my office mate stopped in, so I got to meet her.  It’s a pretty nice office and I’ll be able to take some books there and get some out of my home office!  Doug will be happy with that!

Next week I am giving two lectures on the history of slavery in the early colonies, so I’ve been busy gathering all of my primary sources and writing my lectures.  It should be a good series of lectures to give.  I’m especially interested in the religious aspect of the slaveowners, and once I finish I should have some things to say about it and some parallels with the gay and lesbian movement and religious persecution.

Today I need to make up a quiz, mark some late quizzes and get some other things done before tomorrow rolls around. 

In terms of gay-related news, I see that the Value Voter’s Conference was a flop.  🙂  I guess they couldn’t get enough ‘values’ candidates.  Arnold Swarzenegger said he will veto the gay marriage bill because of the ‘will of the people.’  Yeah right.  The will of the people is religious persecution, but that doesn’t bother him.  He said he will keep vetoing it until the anti-gay marriage proposition that was passed seven years ago is overturned by the ‘will of the people.’  What the Terminator doesn’t seem to know or care about is that about 48% of the people don’t care of gays and lesbians get married.  49% don’t want them to.  So the will of the people just doesn’t care.  But since the Terminator is now a politician, he at least has to pretend he cares what people think…

I also saw that a large number of Fortune 500 companies have scored a perfect 100 on the gay and lesbian scale and many more are quickly moving up.  This is happening just at the time when Bush is thinking he will veto the Employment act that protects gays and lesbians from employment discrimination.  But unlike Bush, he can’t really talk about the will of the people here, since if he cared about the will of the people, Gore would have been president…

On a lighter note, here is a picture of a gladiola that popped up all on its own in my garden.  I’m glad I took this picture today because it has been extremely windy here today and when I got home from my meetings I saw that the wind had snapped it off. 

IMG_1551

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

