Chris the Swiss

Tonight our friend Chris arrives from Switzerland.  He is staying for two weeks and I’ve been looking forward to seeing him for months now.  I haven’t been blogging very much because I have been trying to get all of my lectures for this week written (which I finished today) so I can spend some time with him.  I start teaching at California State University on Wednesday.

Next week Doug and Chris are heading off to Yosemite National Park.  I’m jealous I can’t go, but I guess it is only fair since Doug couldn’t go last year when I went with our friend Seamus. 

They are going the middle of next week and will be back that Friday.  On Saturday we are going to drive to Napa Valley.  I think that most of the grape harvest will be wrapping up, but it will still be a nice trip.  I love that area.

Not too much else is going on.  We just seriously started talking about buying a house.  It probably won’t be in San Francisco since the average price of a one bedroom with no parking is over $500,000.  For that price we can get a free-standing house, with a big yard, about 50 miles south of here.  We’ll have to buy a car as well, but that is the price for moving out of the city.  It won’t be happening until around Christmas time, since by November I will be teaching four classes and I won’t get a bit of a break until Christmas week when my finals are over and hopefully the grading will be over!  I think I start up teaching again around Jan. 7.

 

Some gay-related news.  I see that Alan Chambers was off demonizing gays and lesbians (he himself is still a struggling gay man, although he calls himself an ex-gay).  He states that he lives in poverty.  But the truth is that in 2005 he made $70,000 ($30,000 in compensation and a $40,000 expense account!).  That is living in poverty?  Poor guy.  At least he saves a bit on not having to buy bucket-loads of hair care products (I say that because he seems to have turned ‘straight’ because he was going bald).

I also see on Joe Brummer’s blog that Coach Daubenmire, the one whose son is a sex offender, is bleating on about those evil homosexuals.  Peter LaBarbera gives the Coach a foot-up by publishing his gay-hating essay on Americans For Truth About Homosexuality.  It is worth reading, even though the violent Christian language is pretty revolting.  He is another one of these ‘christians’ who uses a good religion for bad purposes.  He uses Christianity as a shield for his own hate.  Poor coach.  I guess if you are going to hate, you might as well hide behind something.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chris the Swiss

  1. Rob says:

    I keep hearing from these ex-gays about how rich and privileged I am as a gay man.  I wouldn\’t mind being as "poor" as Alan. 

Leave a Reply

