Home to Michigan

My brother just called a bit ago to tell me that my grandfather had just died.  He has been in a nursing home since May when it was too hard for my grandmother and other family members to take care of him.  He was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s a couple of years ago and it was getting progressively worse.  I was able to spend some time with him and my grandmother in July when I was home.  He remembered me, but he couldn’t believe that I was 42 already (I can’t believe it either!). 

On Sunday he got out of bed and fell and broke his hip.  He had surgery and they replaced it.  Luckily the nursing home called everyone in the family when they didn’t think he had too much time left and most of his children and some of his grandchildren were there in his room when he died. 

I loved spending my summers when I was growing up at their farm.  He got me hooked on gardening and as you can tell from some of my recent posts, I am still hooked.  He was one of those people who seemed stern sometimes, but then would crack a smile to show that he was just pretending.

Anyway, we were just about to leave for San Diego and the Society of Biblical Literature conference tomorrow.  I need to cancel the flights and rebook to Michigan.  We’ll probably leave on Sunday.  I’m not sure how long we are staying yet, but I think that his funeral will be either Monday or Tuesday.  I’ve just canceled my classes for next week.  It is a short week anyway since Thanksgiving is Thursday. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Home to Michigan

  1. Joe says:

    Kevin,Please know I will be thinking about you.  I am sorry for you loss.   Keep your chin up best you can!Love, peace and much empathy!Joe

  2. Laura says:

    I will miss him.

Leave a Reply

