After the Funeral

We are back at my parent’s place after the funeral of my grandfather.  The funeral home was open for most of Monday and we were there the whole day.   We spent the night in Algonac (where my grandparents live) and the funeral was Tuesday.  It was pretty hard.  They asked people if they wanted to speak about him and I don’t know what came over me, but I could not just sit there.  I would have regretted not saying anything. 

My grandma and grandpa were married for 66 years.  It is such a long time.  I don’t know how she can handle that.  But my two aunts are going to stay with her for a while and most of my aunts and uncles live down there.  My mom had been spending a week or two every month for the last two years with them, and she will continue with that.  It is too bad we don’t live closer.

It was a hard day.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

