I’m a Christian and You’re Not. Na na nana na…

Well, I am not surprised that some people still don’t get the message of what Obama said. Instead they retreat to "I’m Christian and your not."

Instead of reading or listening to what Obama said, people still stick to their guns that Obama was pointing people to the Sermon on the Mount to show that Christ justified same-sex marriages. 

Here is one refusal (the bolding is what I wrote the other day) from Mark at Chesterstreet, (March 7, 2008) and instead of responding to that, goes off on another tangent:

Obama is not suggesting that Christ justifies gay marriage in the Sermon on the Mount.

Please note: The fact that Obama knows who Jesus is, as all folks who reject Him do, does not mean Jesus knows him; Matthew 7:23 "And then I will declare to them, ‘I never knew you; DEPART FROM ME, YOU WHO PRACTICE LAWLESSNESS.’ I wonder what part of God’s word is law and which parts are undeserved grace in Dr. Kevin’s world?

What does that have to do with what I wrote?  Absolutely nothing. 

Notice that Mark has declared and judged that Obama really isn’t a Christian. I guess I shouldn’t be surprised at that.  Of course he himself is a perfect Christian and his belief is the only correct version…

He also goes on and on about people separating Jesus from God.  I’ll point out to Mark that what I had to say had nothing to do with that.  But for the sake of argument, let’s just say that what Jesus said on the Sermon on the Mount is what God said.  That doesn’t change a thing of what I said in my previous blog.  Obama was pointing out that people should follow what God said on the Sermon on the Mount rather than the condemnations of Paul.  Yes, I know the whole argument that Jesus is God and God is the Holy Spirit and Jesus in the Holy Spirit and God is the Holy Spirit and so on.  I also know the argument that everything in the Bible is God’s word, written through man. 

And let me be very clear:  people like Mark pick and choose what scripture they think is more important.  It is clear from this example (and clear from Mark’s blog) that the topic of homosexuality in the Bible is the most important part of God’s word.  Do you see people like Mark and DL Foster and the rest of the anti-gay crowd writing about divorce and trying to keep divorced people from remarrying or having children or adopting children or getting the same rights as everyone else?  Even though God condemns it? Nope.  Why not?  Well, I think most people can answer that.

 

I also noticed that these very same people who then go on to cite that passage in Romans always, always leave out Romans 2:

2:1 Therefore you have no excuse, whoever you are, when you judge others; for in passing judgment on another you condemn yourself, because you, the judge, are doing the very same things.

 

Finally, I do not use Scripture for my own benefit.  I give it in hopes that these people who claim to be Christian will actually read what it says…

p.s. Neil (from Mark’s blog):  it was Obama that said the passage from Romans was obscure–not me.  I just carried what he said into my blog.  Please read carefully what I said and what Obama said (and this is the whole root of the problem with Obama and what he said regarding the Sermon on the Mount).  And I will stick to my phrase anti-gay because of people who use their religious beliefs to make laws that the rest of us have to live under.  I don’t care if you believe that gays are going to hell.  That doesn’t affect my life at all since I don’t believe it.  However, if you go out and try and get your religious beliefs made into law, like this proposed constitutional amendment to make marriage a man and a woman or laws that prevent me from having access to my partner of 16 years if he gets into an accident or dies, and so on, then that affects my life.  I am then forced to live under your religious beliefs. That is religious persecution and anyone who tries to change the laws like this is, in my book, anti-gay.  And I will fight against this persecution.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’m a Christian and You’re Not. Na na nana na…

  1. Justin says:

    Howdy Kevin:
     
    It\’s my first time here so a little bashful and shy, just promise you will be gentel ok 🙂
    I use to try and discuss with Mark about the Bible and its meanings but you cannot rationaly
    discuss scripture with people who have a schizophrenic God.  By this I mean their perception of the trinity.
    I was by Marks blog and saw where he had posted regarding your statement about divorce.  As usual I was
    amused at his half truths when pointing out that the word of God actually commands divorce.  As is always the
    case with Mark and those like him, he picked only two chapters out of the Torah which would back up his
    coming statements.
     
    He totally avoided quoting what the Messiah had to say regarding divorce in Matthew 19 and Mark 10 but, this is not unusal for cafeteria christians like Mark who will only accept as gospel those scriptures that support their view and will totally by-pass and ignore any scripture that rebukes what they say or even hints at bringing into question what they say. 
     
    Being a Messianic Jew it is total amusement to me to watch how when the Messiah\’s words are an "inconvienent truth" (I do hope Al will take no offense at this:) ).  They will immediately shove them aside and run for the cover of the Torah to try and prove their point.  They will not accept that when the Messiah came the law was full filled and a new law is written on mens hearts.  They cannot accept the truth of Paul to the Galatians regarding the law and judging people by the law. 
     
    Well good luck with Mark and his like Kevin, you truly have a cross to bear there but, keep up the good work of trying to get the truth out there.
     
    Oh BTW and I hope you don\’t mind Kevin, "Mark need I remind you again Yeshua was our boy, we wrote the book and yes, we know what it says and what its meaning is."
     

  2. Justin says:

    Kevin, sorry but in my post I left out my name in error, I do hate it when people do not have the courage to put their name.
    Again sorry about that.

  3. Robert says:

    Justin, I was amused also at how in the post he claims God commands divorce, and he uses Ezra and Nehemiah (which by the way no where in the verses that he gave say it was a command from God), and he says Jesus said it was not a Commandment….so what one is it, since his theology claims God and Jesus are the same, maybe God changed is mind, or maybe he is just a politician and says different things to different people.
     
    Certainly from a Biblical aspect there are exceptions, but to get to that you have to deal with his misuse of scripture and stupid sarcasm, which is why it is pointless to discuss these things with him, and I don\’t deal with him.
     
    Bless Kevin for doing so!

Leave a Reply

