DL Foster and Joe Brummer

I see that DL Foster has taken what Joe Brummer had written the other day and twisted it in his usual manner.  DL Foster lists 10 questions that he wants his fellow Christians to answer (I particularly noted that DL Foster did not answer these himself…).  Here are the questions (and he also puts in what Joe wrote):

1. Does being raised in a certain religion make you a Christian?
JB: “I was raised a Catholic.”

2. Does going to a religious school make you a Christian?
JB: “As a child, I went to Catholic schools and church on Sundays.”

3. Does receiving sacraments make you a Christian?
JB: “I was baptized, received communion, and was confirmed choosing the confirmation name, “Christopher.””

4. Does the desire to be a minister make you a Christian?
JB: “For a short while as a kid, I truly believed I would grow up to be a Priest.”

5. Does “playing church” make you a Christian?
JB: “I would hold “mass” in my basement playroom and pretend I was preparing Eucharist.”

6. Does singing in the church choir and doing weekly readings make you a Christian?
JB: “I sang in the church choir fronted by Sister Mary and did the readings at first Friday Mass.”

7. Does studying scripture and biblical history make you a Christian?
JB: “As I continued in my schooling, I studied scripture and biblical history.”

8. Does participation in morality and catechism classes make you a Christian?
JB: “I had morality classes and was taught catechism.”

9. Does understanding sin, confession and hell make you a Christian?
JB: “I understood sin, confession, and even hell.”

10. Does talking to Jesus or believing that he loves you make you a Christian?
JB: “At night, as I lay in bed, I would talk to Jesus and I truly believed he was listening and that he loved me.”

I will await what the ex-gay ‘reverend’ has to say about these answers.  One question that comes to mind for me is: "Does continually attacking one specific group of people in this country who are considered to be sinners make you a Christian?"  My answer:  NO.

Mark at Chesterstreet states that all the answers to these questions are NO.  Well, my statement to that is that Joe was talking about his childhood (and I was referring to my childhood when I left my comment).  I am guessing that Mark at Chesterstreet and DL Foster may not understand the process that one goes through to be a Christian.  Parents take their children to church on Sunday (much like what I went through).  In my church while the parents were getting their weekly dose of Christianity, the children were taken off to their own Sunday school (this happened in a Southern Baptist church in Flint, MI).  I loved it.  I was always winning prizes for knowing biblical scriptures or for being able to open my Bible to a particular verse the fastest.  I knew the Biblical stories back and forth.  I still have the King James Bible my grandparents gave my in 1972 when I was seven years old.  In that Bible I still have some of the work I did at church.  One shows a beautiful painting of Christ and a woman.  On the back is a dod-to-dot exercise and if you knew John 3:16 you could fill in the lines.  I also had to answer the question:  How did God show his love and keep his promise:  I wrote "he sent his son."  On another card I had written John 20:31; Exodus 24:7; Psalms 105.1 and Isaiah 40:8.  I don’t remember why I had written these things down, but I did.  I won a beautiful Bible for this during a summer school put on by my church.  I really did love it.  I thought I was Christian–how else does a child understand what religion is except to expose them to it by taking them to church, by letting them take communion (we didn’t do that in our church however), by wanting to be a minister or a priest?  I can think of a very famous man in Christian history–Saint Ambrose who lived in the middle/end of the 300s.  A bishop found Ambrose pretending to be a priest when he was a child and took him under his wing and Ambrose became a pivotal person in Christian history.  You expose children to Christianity by letting them sing in church or do readings in church.  You let them study the bible, both in and out of church.  I specifically remember sitting on a barstool in my house when I was little reading the Bible and trying to understand it. I remember drawing angels.  You expose children to Christianity by helping them to understand Christian morality and letting them participate in catechism classes.  You help children to understand Christianity by helping them understand what sin is, what confession is (which I never did because we didn’t do confession in my church) and helping them to understand hell and punishment for not doing the right thing.  You help children understand Christianity by letting them pray to Jesus and let them believe that Jesus loves you.  My God–what better way to get children to understand the message of Christianity than to tell them and help them believe that Jesus loves you?  My mom made sure we said our prayers every night–and I remember it to this day:  "Now I lay me down to sleep, I pray the Lord my soul to keep and if I die before I wake I pray the Lord my soul to take."  I believed in this.  I believed in Jesus and his love for me when I was a child.  Does believing Jesus loves you when you are a Child make you a Christian?  You damned right it does.  I wanted to be a minister for God’s sakes–by 5th grade!  Did all that make me a Christian when I was little?  You damned right it did. The problem for me and for Joe is that soon we started to question what we were being taught…

 

Maybe DL Foster and Mark at Chesterstreet became Christians as adults (and I am fairly certain this was the case for DL) so the process would have been different for them.  I recommend that they read what Joe Brummer had to write, and this time really read it.  They should try to understand what he had written.  They should also understand the process that little kids go through to become Christian.  Joe talked about his process and DL Foster misunderstands what Joe wrote about.  And instead of answering these questions himself, he asks others to do it.  I noticed too in the comments that NO ONE answered what DL asked for–to answer them with a Biblical quote.  NO ONE.  I found it very interesting that Independent Christian (someone who left a comment) believes that Catholicism is "apostate doctrine."  Maybe Independent Christian should read about the Reformation and how that affects his views today on Catholicism…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to DL Foster and Joe Brummer

  1. Robert says:

    I think I would answer no to all these questions too. Primarly being a Christian is all about faith, the second part is what we do that is Christ-like. Oddly I see more Christ-like qualities from many non-christians, than I do from people who say they are Christians

  2. Robert says:

    I think I would answer no to all these questions too. Primarly being a Christian is all about faith, the second part is what we do that is Christ-like. Oddly I see more Christ-like qualities from many non-christians, than I do from people who say they are Christians

  3. Robert says:

    Hey Kevin, I thought a little more about the 10 questions, and I have posted a more detailed response on my blog.

  4. Unknown says:

    Hi,Do you need digital signages, advertising displays, digital sign, advertisement displays and advertising players? Please go Here:www.amberdigital.com.hk(Amberdigital).we have explored and developed the international market with professionalism. We have built a widespread marketing network, and set up a capable management team dedicated to provide beyond-expectation services to our customers.
    amberdigital Contact Us
    website:www.amberdigital.com.hk
    alibaba:amberdigital.en.alibaba.com[hjbgdfjcedhah]

Leave a Reply

