What is Truly Ironic

Mark at Chesterstreet posted two articles the other day and labeled his post The Irony.  One article was about Sally Kerns.  It was written by an ex-gay who said that Sally Kerns played a big part in helping him come out of homosexuality (Chris Morrison).  I thought it was no surprise when I read the link Mark gave to this guy’s post–at the end he was trying to cash in on the whole thing.  He too has a ministry to help out the poor gays.

The other article was some very old news about some guy who defeated a civil union bill and then he was attacked, verbally and his church was apparently firebombed.  I say ‘apparently’ because I haven’t looked up the primary sources for this particular story and I tend not to believe what some people are reporting.  The guy’s name is Chuck McllHenny.  Chuck too is trying to cash in on all his problems–he has even written a book called When the Wicked Seize a City.  Cool title by the way–very sci fi.  🙂

Now Mark was trying to draw a parallel between McllHenny and poor Sally Kern.  However, Mark and I disagree on what the real irony is in the two stories:

My first thought that comes to mind is ‘those who live by the sword die by the sword.’ What I find even more ironic is that people are surprised that Sally Kern, who called gays and lesbians terrorists, then received terrorist-like threats. What–was she expecting flowers and chocolate? And this Chuck Mclhenny falls into this same category. He shouldn’t be surprised that since he worked to kill legislation that would have provided health care and other benefits that other couples have, that these very same people would return the favor.
Of course, I don’t advocate violence at any time and I think a better way to approach these people is to spread their ideas and what they are doing. But on the other hand I can understand the frustration that people would feel for Kern and Mclhenny. I certainly did not appreciate being called a terrorist by a woman who looks old enough to remember the Oklahoma City bombing.

4/25/2008 1:17 AM

It is probably a big mistake to post comments there because they never go anywhere.  Mark is always right, being that he is saved and all and I am always going to be the out and proud homosexual…

Anyway, of course Mark was not happy:

Kevin,
Take off your preverted glasses and actually re-state the facts, not your narcistic self centered desires.
1. Sally Kern said the gay political movement is, in her opinion, as dangerous as terrorism. Both will and have repeatedly used violence and fear tactics to silence thier opposition. History is not on your side. Your ‘friends’ proved her exactly right.
2. Dr. Chuck McIlhenny spent his life helping those in need with his pregnancy center. He exercised his Constitutional rights – that is what the homo militant terrorists hate!
You say we should not be surprised that folks (child molesting perverts included) turn to lawlessness when they don’t get thier way in the legislature – puts a mighty big symbol on your forehead, not very appealing, but thanks for sharing.

4/25/2008 9:47 AM

Apparently Mark never got around to actually reading what Sally Kern said in her speech.  The version he got was a watered down one, written by Chris Morrison (above), originally put out there by Peter LaBarbera and the Concerned Women For America.  Sally Kern backtracked.  And that is the version that she would like everyone to remember, not her original words. 

I left this comment for Mark:

Mark, Mark, Mark,
I know how much you hate to be proven wrong. And you think I have a narcistic self? Coming from you that really makes me laugh.
You obviously haven’t read the transcript of her words. I suggest you get off your throne for a minute and find it and read her words. Since you probably won’t do it yourself, here is a bit of what she said:
"Matter of fact, studies show that no society that has totally embraced homosexuality has lasted more than, you know, a few decades. So it’s the death knell for this country. I honestly think it’s the biggest threat even, that our nation has, even more so than terrorism or Islam which I think is a big threat, okay."
What do you think homosexuality is if not gays and lesbians? Those are the facts. Now would you like to restate your first sentence?
And I am NOT surprised when people feel frustration. Imagine what would happen to all you good little Christians if other groups started calling you terrorists or tried to take away your rights. Do you really think that some of you wouldn’t act violently? Give me a break.

4/25/2008 6:22 PM

 

So she was really speaking about gays and lesbians after all.  If he isn’t convinced of that, let me ask a question:  when a person says "Christianity" isn’t he or she referring to Christians?  I think they are.   And if a person is really talking about Christian doctrine, then who wrote this doctrine and who is spreading it?  The correct answer is Christians.  So when Sally Kern mentioned homosexuality, she is referring to gays and lesbians. 

Anyway, I think it is a bit ridiculous that Mark can’t understand the frustration some people feel at the actions and the words of Kern and Mcllhenny.  Imagine someone stating that Christianity is the biggest threat that our nation has, even more so that terrorism or Islam.  He wouldn’t feel frustrated at that comment?  Or would he feel frustrated if the legislature made a law that forbid Christians to get married to each other.  That wouldn’t be frustrating?  I bet he would be very frustrated.  And I bet he would understand that others would be frustrated.  

And who knows–the act of picking a religion is certainly a choice.  Right now Mark’s choice is protected by the Constitution.  I wonder what type of frustration would be felt when someone tries to change the Constitution to take away that right?  I can feel the frustration already building…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What is Truly Ironic

  1. Robert says:

    What I find Ironic, is those who claim to know all about the War on Terror (Republicans), will go out and defend such a horrible comment like the one Sally Kern Made. A few weeks back, we had a Conservative Author on our show, and he found Sally Kern\’s comments to be ridicuous. How someone defends the indefensiable is beyond me, but somehow those on the far right will defend anything, no matter how hateful or ridiculous it is.
     
    The other thing is when did a email become a terrorist action? Blowing up buildings and killing the innocent is terrorism, sending a nasty email (which I don\’t agree with), is not terrorism. That leads me to question, if they even know what terrorism is!

  2. Robert says:

    Let me add also, it is a beleif of mine that anti-gay people love to refer to us as Homosexual activist, because than they get to dehumanize us as individuals.

  3. Kevin says:

    Hey Rob!  I agree with you.  Her statements are beyond belief, but she is sticking to them and so is everyone else.  I find find it funny that she can say what she wants by calling us terrorists, but as soon as one gay man or one lesbian say anything back, then we are somehow attacking her right to free speech.  It doesn\’t make any sense.

  4. Deb says:

    Mark is truly not at peace with himself. All of his posts are negative and hateful.  Kevin, do yourself a favor and do what I did – just discard him out of your well informed blog.   Ex-gay ranting is better than his sermons.  Believe me.  I did it for way too long. I know. 

  5. Kevin says:

    Hey Deb!  Great to hear from you!  So sorry to see your blog go–are you thinking about doing another one? 
    I agree that all of what Mark writes is negative.  I am still trying to get a straight answer out of him why he is so concerned with all things gay.  Of course, I haven\’t checked his blog today…
    Take care,
    Kevin

Leave a Reply

