Can I get Married Tomorrow, Pretty Please?

Well, tomorrow is going to be interesting.  I heard on the radio on my drive home from work that the California State Supreme Court is going to give its decision tomorrow as to whether gays and lesbians can get married in this state.  I am not hopeful, but you never know.  I can already feel myself getting a bit nervous about the whole thing. It is supposed to release its findings at 10 am.  I just hope there isn’t any of that ‘marriage is for the procreation of children’ crap. 

And you would think that after being together for 16 years and 3 months (today), we could get married.  I find it amazing that I even have to think about this issue–the government has no right deciding who can marry if they are adults.  And no one has proven that there is any harm, none whatsoever, in having gays and lesbians get married.  If straight Christians don’t want to get married to gays and lesbians, fine–don’t.  But don’t use your religion to force your beliefs on me. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Can I get Married Tomorrow, Pretty Please?

  1. Wood says:

    Thanks for the heads-up about the court decision tommorow.
    Congrats on making it 16 years and 3 months. We just marked 16 years on April 4 this year.
    Do any of your friends describe you and your man as "pre-internet, or pre-bush?"
    W

  2. Kevin says:

    Hey Wood!  Congrats on your own 16 years!  No, I haven\’t heard anyone describe us as pre-internet or pre-bush, but I had a good laugh in class the other day when I asked how many people were reading the newspaper.  There were only two (out of about 25)–me and a student who is about my age!  And as of September this year I am not allowing my students to use websites to write their papers!  This quarter I made a rule that only one website could be used, but it is still causing problems.  So next quarter no web–we\’ll see how that goes!

Leave a Reply

