Garden Pics

We spent most of today painting–and we only got the ceiling done!  But it does look good…  Tomorrow we will paint the walls–or at least three of them.  We also picked some things from our garden–some swiss chard, more arugula and two very long daikon radishes.  I’ve put the pics below.  I had Doug hold the daikon radish just to show how big those things got.  I was expecting about half that size. 

IMG_2002

IMG_2003

 

We also had a 100 degree day here on Thursday and we had an amazing sunset (the picture is a bit blurry–I couldn’t seem to hold the camera steady!): 

IMG_1998

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Garden Pics

  1. Justin says:

    Nice pics Kevin its nice to have a garden to grow some of  your own stuff.  I miss mine but oh well.  How do you use those daikon radishes?  We never grew those we just grew the red globe type.  I cant say I ever had a daikon and just wondered what all you put them in.  Keep the pics coming.  Ohhh BTW what has happened on the hot tub?
     
    Justin

  2. Kevin says:

    Hey Justin!  I had my first daikon radish in Australia in some Asian restaurants.  They were in a hotpot mixture of veggies.  You had this boiling pot of broth and you dipped everything in as you wanted to eat it.  The daikon really soaked up the flavor.  So what I do with them is to put them in some broth and cook them for about 5 minutes and eat them just like that. 
    The hot tub? No luck so far…  I\’m still working on Doug.  🙂

  3. Justin says:

    Thanks for the tip Kev we do a lot of Asian and we do the hot pot from time to time.  I will see if I can find this at the farmers market and try it.

  4. Scott says:

    Looks nice, Kevin!
     
    While you\’re at it, grow me some rhubarb so I can make pies mixed with strawberries this summer! LOL
     
    I haven\’t gardened in about 3 years, because you have to be really dedicated to gardening if you want nice results in TX.  I simply don\’t have the time for it, and TX isn\’t the right weather for rhubarb anyway. 

  5. Kevin says:

    Hey GLB!  I definitely want to grow some rhubarb, so you will defintely have to come!  I used to have this great rhubarb jam recipe that my grandmother made me.  And I love rhubarb pic.

Leave a Reply

