Mark and the Sodomites, Part II

As expected, Mark can’t answer my question that I asked him the other day.  He gave some jumbled response, but it made no sense.  It was something about God’s will, which really translates that he knows God’s will.  I keep forgetting that he has all the answers and anyone who questions him is a fool.  😉

I think that a lot of these people who use this story in Genesis and in Judges don’t want to think about it too closely.  They don’t want to think about the women–the virgin daughters and the concubine (from Judges) and how they were feeling when God told their fathers/owners to toss them outside to be raped to death (as happened with the concubine).  They are only concerned with the so-called homosexual men and NO ONE has been able to tell me why a bunch of men who could gang rape a woman to death could be even remotely homosexual.  Raping a woman is the realm of straight men, not homosexual men.  This just tells me that these stories are just that–just stories.  I can’t imagine anyone thinking that Lot is virtuous for what he did.  Or the father who threw out his concubine (and who wanted to toss out his daughters) to some men to be raped.  That is sick.  There is nothing moral in that story.   DL Foster tries to reason it was by saying that Lot knew beforehand that the men really didn’t want his daughters.  That is a good way to not think about what this story is really about.  He states:

"Lot’s actions were to protect God’s messengers even at the expense of his own children. But I think that he knew they didnt want the women anyway. That was clear per their threats."

This also makes me wonder why God’s messengers couldn’t protect themselves–you would think with God on their side it wouldn’t have to come down to either facing the crowd themselves or tossing the nearest virgin outside to be killed.  I wonder if these messengers were having their tea and scones while all this was happening?

And not to be left out, the rabidly anti-gay Dani makes a reappearance on Mark at Chesterstreet.  She has this to say:

"I can barely stomach the twisted perversion of Scripture put out by queer theologians these days.
NO matter how hard you try to convince them that homosexuality is an ABOMINATION – it’s like climbing a mountain of jello because they are so utterly depraved and completely comfortable in their SIN, nothing we say makes any difference.
If "inhospitality" is what really brought God’s judgment of fire and brimstone on Sodom, just imagine how much more wrath God would pour out for gross sexual immorality?
And I wonder where we get the term ‘Sodomite’ from anyway? Perhaps it’s from not bringing the new neighbors a basket of muffins? I dunno?"

6/10/2008 10:08 PM

‘I dunno’ is certainly the correct answer, Dani. 

And I would love to know how her stomach would react when her father grabs her by the arm, takes her to the door of the house while a crowd of men are screaming outside, and tosses her outside only to be raped endlessly to death just because he thinks his God told him to.  Or how her stomach would be when her husband grabs her young daughters by the arms and tosses them outside to a bunch of men only to be raped to death, just because he thinks God told him to.  Knowing Dani, she might see this as a one-way ticket to heaven for her or her virgin daughters or that pesky concubine of her husband’s, but I imagine that she can’t think about that aspect of the story.  Most women can’t and they ignore it because it is too horrible to think that their God sacrificed them like this.  That is why they have to focus on the other aspect of the story and ignore what it is really talking about. 

These stories are great indicators of the treatment of women in that society.  They didn’t have shelter under their father’s house like strangers would.  They were property, to be sold to the highest suitor and then they would be under the control of their husbands, or if he died, his father, or if he was dead, her son.  Sounds like great family values…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mark and the Sodomites, Part II

  1. Robert says:

    I wonder how Dani feels about Mark\’s perverted theology of how God is NOT Love, since it contradicts I john 4:9?
     
    Mark uses the word fool allot….I guess he is not a fan of Jesus who said if you call someone a fool you are in danger of hell fire!
     
     

  2. Justin says:

    Kevin,
     
    I just about spit my coffee all over my monitor when I read Dani\’s comment.  When this individual said that if Sodom was really destroyed with fire and brimstone because of "inhospitality" then asked how much more wrath G-d would pour out if it was for gross sexual immorality?  My G-d Dani just how much more worse do you think it could be?  This persons biblical ignorance is right on par with Marks.  They completely discount what the prophets said were the reasons for the destruction.  Now, correct me if I\’m wrong but I do believe somewhere in my years of study I understood the prophets were spokesmen for G-d. 
     
    Ezekiel 16
    48“As I live, saith the LORD GOD, Sodom thy sister hath not done, she nor her daughters, as thou hast done, thou and thy daughters. Behold, this was the iniquity of thy sister Sodom,1.pride,2.fulness of bread, and3.abundance of idleness was in her and in her daughters,4.[Inhospitality] neither did she strengthen the hand of the poor and needy. And they were5.haughty, and6.committed abomination before me: therefore I took them away as I saw good.”
     
    They also reject what Jesus had to say regarding the destruction of these two cities.
    Jesus:
    “And whosoever shall not receive you, nor hear you, when ye depart thence, shake off the dust under your feet for a testimony against them. Verily I say unto you, It shall be more tolerable for Sodom and Gomorrha in the day of judgement, than for that city.” Mark 6:11.
     
    The sin of Sodom, according to Jesus, was inhospitality to G-d’s messengers. Had G-d intended us to believe that the sin of Sodom was homosexuality, G-d would have said so in unmistakable language. He did not. Instead, G-d points out, in unmistakable language, that Inhospitality is the sin of Sodom. Now the question is do you agree with G-d and His prophet Ezekiel or Jesus about the sin of Sodom?   Or are you going to further reject G-d\’s word, the phrophets word and Jesus\’s word to further your own religious agenda of misleading others.
     
    We also know that the two cities were destroyed because G-d had made a bargain with Abraham that if he found 10 righteous men there he would spare the cities. 
     
    I wonder do Mark and Dani ever give any thought to what they say before saying it?  I dont think so because even as a child I would ask what happened to the Mothers and babies and kids like me.  Did G-d destroy them just because of the men being so bad.  The answer was always the same.  Its not up to us to question why G-d did it he just did so go outside and play. Well, I still ask that question were the babies and kids like me so evil they had to be destroyed too?  Does Dani ever consider or wonder about that aspect of the story or like Mark does Dani follow a this vengful G-d in in their own truth really hates humanity?
     
    No, I doubt Dani does like so many others only sees in the scripture what they have been told they cannot read the scripture in context or see it in the time frame it was written.     
     
    "Come now, and let us reason together," says the Lord. Though your sins are as scarlet, they will be as white as snow; though they are red like crimson, they will be like wool." (Isaiah 1:18)
     
    This verse from the Hebrew prophet Isaiah has meant much to me. It reveals that God wants to reason with us. He doesn\’t expect us to take a blind leap of faith into unreality or non-reason. He gives us credit for being intelligent, reasoning creatures, and He desires to communicate certain truths to us in His written word.
     
     
     
     
     

  3. Kevin says:

    Hey Rob,
    I doubt Dani has read very much of Mark.  She seems to have an upset stomach quite a bit of the time when reading about homosexuals, and that is all that Mark writes about.  🙂

  4. Kevin says:

    Hey Justin,
    I am never surprised at what Dani has to say.  I am still interested in hearing what she would feel when she if her husband tossed her and her virgin daughters outside to be raped to death. 
    This whole story reminds me of something that happened in San Francisco a couple of years ago.  A woman took her three kids to one of the piers and threw them into the water.  Of course they drowned.  Her excuse?  God told her to do it.  I think of her when I think about the story of Lot and that man in Judges.  The woman (I think) was found insane…

  5. Kevin says:

    Oh, and Justin,
    I wouldn\’t toss the words of Jesus to Mark.  He really wouldn\’t like that, especially since it goes against what he believes to be God\’s will.  🙂

  6. Justin says:

    🙂 LOL is who I was talking to Rob about.  He doesnt want me to give Mark the swelled head by paying attention to him in blasting him and his heritical ranting.

Leave a Reply

