History of Pride

 

There is a fantastic video on the history of Pride Parade.  You can see it here.  I would have inserted the video, but for some reason I can’t get it to work (even though the video is by MSN and I am using Windows Live Writer to make my blog entries…).

Anyway, it is a good video.  It has been a weird day for me.  I’ve been very weepy in a happy way.  Marriages started today and as I said earlier, the radio station I listened to was at the San Francisco City Hall and there are hundreds of people cheering on the gay and lesbian couples who are marrying.  I just watched that video I mention above and that made me weepy too.  And the last thing that made me weepy was something I saw at the high school I started teaching at this summer for a local college.  Some of my students are high school students and when I walked into the admin building, right behind the secretary’s desk was an 8" by 10" rainbow flag and a note under it that said "GSA Accepted here."  For those of you who don’t know, GSA stands for Gay-Straight Alliance.  As I walked to my classroom this morning I noticed this sign on many of the doors I passed.  I have to say I was amazed and very happy.  It just added to everything else that is happening today in California.

I tend to focus on the bad aspects of society like those who hold views like Stacy Harp, DL Foster, Mark at Chesterstreet and so on.  I have to remember that their hateful views are in the minority.  This is our time to shine and come out of the closet.  These people are trying their best to shut the door on us again, but this time it won’t work.  They can keep trying and occasionally I get my finger smashed when they try and slam the door on me, but I’ll keep fighting on and I have to remember those signs at the high school.  That will make sure I see that not all is doom and gloom. In fact, most of it is not.  Maybe I need to start reading some other blogs?  Nah.  Someone needs to keep an eye on these people…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to History of Pride

  1. Justin says:

    Hi  Kev,
     
    I watched the video and like you it made me a bit weepy too.  It brought back many memories of the early Pride day events we attended in the 70\’s the fun and comradere we all had even when you really were putting everything on the line just being there in those days.  It also brought back the sad and terrible memories of the early 80\’s when it seemed I was being constantly called to the bedside of those friends who were dieing of aids.  It guess seemed that my being a ex priest  it was natural for our friends to call on me when churches not only turned their backs on those with the disease but, on their families as well.  I think the saddest remark I ever heard during that time while talking to the younger siblings of David whose bedside I had been called to was his father talking to his fundementalist minister.  I over heard him say "I think it is really saying something to me that a ex homo catholic priest has to come into our home and teach me and my family the true meaning of Christ while you and your kind condemn my son to hell" and with that he slammed down the phone.  I was shocked when the pride day came up and he called me to ask if he and his family could join us in the celebration so they could celebrate David\’s life with those who knew him and loved him.  I vowed then not just for David but for everyone I would never give people like Mark and Stacy a moments rest without challenging their ignorance, hatred and bigotry.  I think Mohandis Ghandi said it best about the likes of Mark and Stacy:
    "I like your Christ; I do not like your Christians. Your Christians are so unlike your Christ"
     
    You are right it is our time to shine now and remember these words my old daddy said to me.  "Son if they close the door on you just keep on knocking because one of two things are going to happen.  They will get so tired of you knocking they will open it and let you in or, it will fall off its hinges and you can walk in." 
     
    Now Kevin you might want to join the the faith founded by  Steve Eley it is Pink Unicorns.
     
    "Invisible Pink Unicorns are beings of awesome mystical power. We know this because they manage to be invisible and pink at the same time. Like all religions, the Faith of the Invisible Pink Unicorns is based upon both logic and faith. We have faith that they are pink; we logically know that they are invisible because we can\’t see them."~ Steve Eley
     
    Wishing you a nice day
      

  2. Justin says:

    A small correction in wording sometimes my fingers get faster than my brain 🙂
     
    "I think it is really saying something to me that a ex homo catholic priest  should read a homo ex catholic priest.

  3. Deb says:

    Keep on keepin\’ on!  Thank you for sharing this.

Leave a Reply

