Some Drivers are such Losers…

Doug just got home a bit ago.  He bicycles to work–one hour each way.  Tonight on his way home he was hit by a car.  The car turned when Doug was right next to the car.  Doug fell off the bike and instead of stopping to help, the driver left.  Luckily Doug was not hurt, although he has a big scrape on his elbow and somehow he got a scrape on the back of his knee.  And luckily too, a woman stopped to see if he was o.k. and got a bit of the driver’s license plate number.  The police were called and they came out and took statements.  I hope they catch the f***er.  I would love to see his/her ass in jail for hit and run.  I really hate the fact that Doug bicycles to work, especially after his other bike accident over two years ago which resulted in three surgeries.  But he is a big boy and very stubborn.

And some drivers are such losers. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Some Drivers are such Losers…

  1. Cassie says:

    Doug–be careful, dammit!
    In the States a Bike rider needs to be on his/her guard at all times.
    Trust no one!
     
    Better yet—get a car!
     
    Cass

  2. Rob says:

    As much as I\’d love a motorcycle I don\’t get one because there are too many bad drivers.  A bicycle is in a similar amount of danger.  I\’m glad that just about everything I need is within walking distance and for what isn\’t – we have outstanding public transportation.

  3. Kevin says:

    Hey Cass–try telling someone who is extremely stubborn to do something, like Doug!  We\’ve got a car, but he won\’t drive it to work.  He just bought a new bike, so that is what he is taking.  He won\’t take the train either (which is a short walk from our house).  He woke up this morning and said he wasn\’t going to bike in, but he did anyway.  I have a feeling his back is sore, since he briefly mentioned it last night–but as I said, he is stubborn.  His dad, who is getting close to 90, just bought a Vespa (or something similar) so that he doesn\’t have to depend on public transport!  And he uses it!  So stubborness runs in the family…

  4. Kevin says:

    Hey Rob, I refuse to let Doug get a motorcycle.  My brother was had a very bad accident on one and I hate those things!  But you are right–there is outstanding public transport in Australia.

  5. Cassie says:

    Yeah, well…that\’s a MAN for you!

  6. Justin says:

    Hi Kev,
    Glad every thing is ok with Doug.  Tell him your to young to be a widower 🙂
     
    Cass,
    Oh my what a sexest stereo-type you say there 🙂
     
    Like Robguy I love our public transportation system here in Dallas I can go where I need and avoid all those crazy women drivers.

  7. Scott says:

    Sorry to hear of Doug\’s injury – I hope he gets better soon!

  8. Deb says:

    Well, look at it this way: he\’s no quitter!  I hope he recovers fast. People who hit and run are just plain cowards. Stop and help the person you hurt!  I don\’t understand people. 

  9. Cassie says:

    Australia may have great transportation but they also have winter in July.
     
    Besides, the water goes down the drain the wrong way 🙂

  10. Kevin says:

    Hi everyone,
    Thanks for your concern about Doug.  He seems fine–although he probably wouldn\’t tell me if he wasn\’t!  I usually have to badger him a bit…
    He is in Seattle today to train some people at Microsoft and will be back tonight.  At least that is one more day off that darned bike!

  11. Cassie says:

    Seattle is a place I have always wanted to visit. I suppose it\’s too late, now.  But I would like to have seen Seattle\’s Underground City
    http://www.seattle.gov/tour/underground.htm
     
    Looks quite fascinating. doesn\’t it?
     
    Cass

Leave a Reply

