Best Wishes, Cass!

One of my friends, Cass, sounds like she isn’t doing very well.  Her Space is here.  Her friend Brandy said that she was on oxygen yesterday.  I hope she gets well soon and back to blogging!

Cass was so sweet to me and Doug–she gave us our first wedding gift.  She also got me re-hooked on Mystery Theater.  When I was growing up, I used to listen to the Mystery Theater any night I could.  It started at 11:07 pm.  They were radio shows and to me they were terrifying.  The scariest one I ever heard was The Fall of the House of Usher.

Anyway, I hope you get well soon Cass!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Best Wishes, Cass!

  1. Cassie says:

    I\’m baaack!!!!

  2. Justin says:

    Whewweeee, WELCOME back Cass, 
     
     Smacks Kevin.  BTW Kev you are dating yourself with the Mystery Theater and radio thing.  If Im not watching some gawd awfull disaster movie on History Chnl or Discovery I watch PBS.  I love Mystery Theater and the American Expierence.  And of course Antiques Road Show.  LOL

  3. Kevin says:

    Hey Cass!
    Glad to hear you are back!
    Hey Justin–I probably am dating myself.  🙂  I\’m not sure when the radio Mystery Theater went off the air, but I was totally hooked.  And today I listed to The Fog radio program–thanks Cass!

  4. Cassie says:

    The last broadcast of the CBS Radio Mystery Theater was on December 31,  1982 but the last NEW show was broadcast on December 7 of that year and I don\’t know what that was but the first was on January 6, 1974 and  that was "The Old Ones Are Hard to Kill" with Agnes Moorehead.
    Feel dated now? I can remember listening to old time radio on my crystal radio set (built it myself) back in the 50s—now THAT\’S dated.

  5. Justin says:

    Hey Kev. smiles,  Cass do you remember any of the old shows like inner sanctum or the really good one  Only the Shadow knows?
    I would listen to those with the lights turned out and the covers over my head. :-0 

  6. Cassie says:

    Not only do I remember them but I often feature them on my Windows Live Space (my late Uncle, Bret Morrison, WAS the Shadow for, like, ten years. In fact, that\’s HIS picture you see at the Radio Hall of Fame website http://www.radiohof.org/adventuredrama/shadow.html 
     
    Drop on by sometime, Justin and enjoy a show (In fact, I\’ll put up an episode of "The Shadow" just for you. And, as with all these shows, I will simultaneously add it to the subfolder in Old Time Radio that Brandy started for easier downloading.  Tgus one will be "The Nursery Rhyme Murders" and that will be Uncle Bret voicing the Shadow.

  7. Kevin says:

    Hey Cass and Justin!
    I graduated from high school in 1983, so having Mystery Theater stop in 1982 would explain why I could never find the show after that!  I was pretty mad it just disappeared (and no internet to check what was going on!).
    I see, Cass, that you are going to start getting all of us to listen to our computers instead of watching t.v.!  Sounds like a good plan!  Now whether or not the computer will fit under the covers…

  8. Cassie says:

    Hey Kevin! I hope you will all be enjoying these good old radio shows with me. I try to upload the best versions I can find to the skydrive (often more complete than the ones I can stream because I happened to luck out in finding the best sources years ago. (The family name didn\’t hurt (chuckle).
    But it us my hope that especially the younger people who visit my live space will come to enjoy these old shows. Because there is a rather distressing phenomenon among film-makers that I have noticed over the years. Now that (thanks to CGI and so on) they CAN show everything they often get carried away by it and I think the movie suffers, Take the latest version of THE FOG. The Tom Welling, Maggie Grace, Selma Blair version.
     
    It just isn\’t as effective as the original 1980 version.  I LIKE itm I said once that it was like going into an old familiar house and finding all these rooms you never knew were there. And it still is. But
    There are Too Many Ghosts. Shown, I mean. They need to remember that sometimes it\’s what you DON\’T see that is more frightening. And that is what these classic shows demonstrate. "August Heat" is perfect—you don\’t see anything except in your imagination—and it is in the stimulating of the imagination that radio was supreme.
    But movies can do that too…if these young film-makers can learn to restrain their enthusiasm for visual effects they will make more memorable movies. Or take the radio version of "The Birds" when Herbert Marshall just refers to the hawks and the other birds of prey—didn\’t that give you a delightful shudder you never got from Hitchcock\’s film? Of course, he didn\’t have hawks or eagles or any of that but if one were to do a re-make…which would be scarier (not grosser—just scarier) SEEING a hawk rip someone\’s eye out…or seeing the hawks perched in the trees and on the housetops with, say, a close-up of their glittering eyes as they look down on a terrified child…you see the horror in the child\’s eyes as you hear the sound of their wing as they take to the air…then cut to a sobbing mother and some men standing around a shrouded form at the morgue shaking their heads sorrowfully?
     
    I shall be interested which scares YOU more. (I think I already know Kevin\’s answer) but how about you others who wander by his space?

  9. Kevin says:

    Hey Cass–I totally agree with you about the movies.  My all-time favorite horror movie is The Haunting (the 1963 version).  You never get to see the ghosts, and I think that made it all that much more terrifying.  The second and third line of Shirley Jackson\’s book still gives me goosebumps:
    "Hill House, not sane, stood by itself against its hills, holding darkness within; it had stood for eithgy years and might stand for eighty more.  Within, walls continued upright, bricks met neatly, floors were firm, and doors were sensibly shtu; silence lay steadily against the wood and stone of Hill House, and whatever walked there, walked alone."
     
    So you can guess that I would be more terrified by  "you see the horror in the child\’s eyes as you hear the sound of their wing as they take to the air…"
     
     

  10. Cassie says:

    I love that movie TOO! Richard Johnson, Russ "When you\’re a Jet you\’re a Jet all the way" Tamblyn, Claire Bloom, Julie Harris, that CREEPY housekeeper (so beautifully played by Rosalie Crutchley) "No one lives any nearer than town…no one will come any nearer than that…in the night…in the dark." And, as her husband (Mr. Dudley) the one and only Valentine Dyall (pronounced Dial) whose appearence in the 1960 Christopher Lee film "City of the Dead"  (US title "Horror Hotel" was ALSO memorable, And, of course, as "The Black Guardian he was the foe of Peter Davison\’s Doctor on DOCTOR WHO for 13 episodes back in 1983.
     
    ANYWAY, I\’m not against all CGI—If they\’d just scale it back a bit…remember…the thing heard but not seen except for just a glimpse out of the corner of the eye maybe…that\’s the scare that stays with you. The others you may talk about "Cool special effects" and all…but the other haunts your dreams…
    MUAHAHAHAHAHA

Leave a Reply

