My Latest Mosaic

 

Well, I have finally finished my newest mosaic.  It is the first time I have tried to do a human face.  I think she turned out pretty good!  By the way, that’s Mary in case you haven’t figured it out (I think the halo would give it away!).  I’ve made her for Doug’s parents.  We’ll be seeing them on Friday.

And as you can also see, the picture is a bit blurry.  I couldn’t find my tripod…

 

 

IMG_2131

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to My Latest Mosaic

  1. Robert says:

    Looks very good!

  2. Cassie says:

    That is EXTREME cool! I am certain Doug\’s parents will LOVE it!
     

  3. Justin says:

    I am so glad that they are teaching you a valuable skill in the institution you may even be able to use it when they let you out. 🙂
     
    Seriously, that is awsome dude.  As Cass said I am sure that Doug\’s parents will love it.  You keep this up and we will all be saying oh yes, we knew Kevin when he was just a struggeling lecturer at the Univerity and look at him now a true Arteest. 🙂

  4. Kevin says:

    Hey Rob, Cass and Justin,
    Thanks for all your comments!  I was a bit nervous about making here.  As I said, I haven\’t done a face before.  I wanted to make Doug\’s parents something to thank them for coming down from Oregon to be at our wedding (and be our witnesses).  They are Catholic, so I think they\’ll like having a Mary mosaic. 
     
    And now that I have seen her, I might have to make one for myself.  Although Doug may say no to having another religious icon in the house!  So far I have a cross from Mexico, an icon of Mary and baby Jesus and a small oval frame of Mary on the small nice we have above our fireplace.  He has already told me I can\’t fill the place up with religious artwork.  Hmmm.  We\’ll see about that…

  5. Justin says:

    Hmmm….a house filled with relioius icons, having to reassess whether Kevin is one of those religious fundies…will get back to you just as soon as we round him up and have the inquistion … LOL
     
    Have a good day Kev and tell Doug I said if you want one you can have one or there may be another earthquake 🙂

  6. Cassie says:

    Sherlock Morrison here—just a word of warning–I am going to find out WHAT has happened to Kevin\’s Tripod and the Lord have Mercy on whatever Amateur Moriarty made off with it.
     
    I already have one clue—the curious behavior of Kevin\’s cat in the night-time.
    "But Cass—I mean SHERLOCK" says Kevin. "Our cat did NOTHING in the night-time!"THAT was the curious behavior!

  7. Justin says:

    Cass….surely you dont mean ….Kevin and Dougs cat has some sinister link to Moriarty?  Oh my the horror of it all.  I can just see the AFA\’s next fund raising letter.  " Gay marriage causes feline delinquency and must be stopped"  "Gays must not be allowed to adopt cats"  Send us your $20.00 donation today.  "Gay marriage will destroy the biblical principals of cat ownership" make that a $50.00 donation today "Feline owner ship by gays cause earthquakes, fires and untidy litter boxes" make that a $100.00 donation now:0
     
    Morning Cass I hope you get to the bottom of this henious crime.

  8. Cassie says:

    Hey, Justin!
     
    Well, I gave Zak the third degree and it turns out he\’s been hangimg with the wrong crowd. A group of lawless felines under the leadership of a ginger tom named Macavity.
    I\’ll keep you updated.
     
    Cass

    Macavity\’s a Mystery Cat: he\’s called the Hidden Paw -For he\’s the master criminal who can defy the Law.He\’s the bafflement of Scotland Yard, the Flying Squad\’s despair:For when they reach the scene of crime – Macavity\’s not there!
    Macavity, Macavity, there\’s no one like Macavity,He\’s broken every human law, he breaks the law of gravity.His powers of levitation would make a fakir stare,And when you reach the scene of crime – Macavity\’s not there!You may seek him in the basement, you may look up in the air -But I tell you once and once again, Macavity\’s not there!Mcavity\’s a ginger cat, he\’s very tall and thin;You would know him if you saw him, for his eyes are sunken in.His brow is deeply lined with thought, his head is highly domed;His coat is dusty from neglect, his whiskers are uncombed.He sways his head from side to side, with movements like a snake;And when you think he\’s half asleep, he\’s always wide awake.Macavity, Macavity, there\’s no one like Macavity,For he\’s a fiend in feline shape, a monster of depravity.You may meet him in a by-street, you may see him in the square -But when a crime\’s discovered, then Macavity\’s not there!He\’s outwardly respectable. (They say he cheats at cards.)And his footprints are not found in any file of Scotland Yard\’s.And when the larder\’s looted, or the jewel-case is rifled,Or when the milk is missing, or another Peke\’s been stifled,Or the greenhouse glass is broken, and the trellis past repair -Ay, there\’s the wonder of the thing! Macavity\’s not there!And when the Foreign Office find a Treaty\’s gone astray,Or the Admiralty lose some plans and drawings by the way,There may be a scrap of paper in the hall or on the stair -But it\’s useless to investigate – Macavity\’s not there!And when the loss has been disclosed, the Secret Service say:\’It must have been Macavity!\’ – but he\’s a mile away.You\’ll be sure to find him resting, or a-licking of his thumbs,Or engaged in doing complicated long-division sums.Macavity, Macavity, there\’s no one like Macavity,There never was a Cat of such deceitfulness and suavity.He always has an alibi, and one or two to spare:At whatever time the deed took place – MACAVITY WASN\’T THERE!And they say that all the Cats whose wicked deeds are widely known(I might mention Mungojerrie, I might mention Griddlebone)Are nothing more than agents for the Cat who all the timeJust controls their operations: the Napoleon of Crime!

    T. S. Eliot, Old Possum\’s Book of Practical Cats

    Macavity\’s a Mystery Cat: he\’s called the Hidden Paw -For he\’s the master criminal who can defy the Law.He\’s the bafflement of Scotland Yard, the Flying Squad\’s despair:For when they reach the scene of crime – Macavity\’s not there!
    Macavity, Macavity, there\’s no one like Macavity,He\’s broken every human law, he breaks the law of gravity.His powers of levitation would make a fakir stare,And when you reach the scene of crime – Macavity\’s not there!You may seek him in the basement, you may look up in the air -But I tell you once and once again, Macavity\’s not there!Mcavity\’s a ginger cat, he\’s very tall and thin;You would know him if you saw him, for his eyes are sunken in.His brow is deeply lined with thought, his head is highly domed;His coat is dusty from neglect, his whiskers are uncombed.He sways his head from side to side, with movements like a snake;And when you think he\’s half asleep, he\’s always wide awake.Macavity, Macavity, there\’s no one like Macavity,For he\’s a fiend in feline shape, a monster of depravity.You may meet him in a by-street, you may see him in the square -But when a crime\’s discovered, then Macavity\’s not there!He\’s outwardly respectable. (They say he cheats at cards.)And his footprints are not found in any file of Scotland Yard\’s.And when the larder\’s looted, or the jewel-case is rifled,Or when the milk is missing, or another Peke\’s been stifled,Or the greenhouse glass is broken, and the trellis past repair -Ay, there\’s the wonder of the thing! Macavity\’s not there!And when the Foreign Office find a Treaty\’s gone astray,Or the Admiralty lose some plans and drawings by the way,There may be a scrap of paper in the hall or on the stair -But it\’s useless to investigate – Macavity\’s not there!And when the loss has been disclosed, the Secret Service say:\’It must have been Macavity!\’ – but he\’s a mile away.You\’ll be sure to find him resting, or a-licking of his thumbs,Or engaged in doing complicated long-division sums.Macavity, Macavity, there\’s no one like Macavity,There never was a Cat of such deceitfulness and suavity.He always has an alibi, and one or two to spare:At whatever time the deed took place – MACAVITY WASN\’T THERE!And they say that all the Cats whose wicked deeds are widely known(I might mention Mungojerrie, I might mention Griddlebone)Are nothing more than agents for the Cat who all the timeJust controls their operations: the Napoleon of Crime!

    T. S. Eliot, Old Possum\’s Book of Practical Cats

  9. Cassie says:

    Sorry for posting the poem TWICE—not sure how that happened unless…
     
    But of COURSE!!! Macavity—who else?

  10. Justin says:

    Thats ok Cass there is something sinister behind all this I just know it.  I think you need to put Zak back on the rack and ask a few more questions.  I\’m telling you that feline knows more than he is letting on. 

  11. Cassie says:

    Zak attacked me when I attempted to question him. I did not realize he was a Master of the Ninja Fur-Ball Style and I barely escaped with my life. Additionally, Kevin and Doug have vanished mysteriously—I suspect Macavity, of course.

  12. Justin says:

    Good morning Sherlock (aka Cass-of Shadows)
     
    I suppose you should have been warned of Zak\’s almost seceret training in the Ninja Fur-Ball Style.  I learned of it myself ony yesterday from Cavindish McMouse who has been keeping an eye on Macavity as to his where abouts and secretive nocturnal movements.  He reported that Zak indeed had several meetings with MaCacavity who introduced him to Moriarty but could add nothing beyond that other than Zak started his training shortly after those meetings.
     
    I am worried about Kevin and Dougs where-abouts since MacCavity is also known to associate with a shady group of characters from Gamulonia Vector 5 of the star system Cravenious.  As you know alien abductions are not new to the Northern California area.  With the Gamulonians being the worst of the worst.  It is reported that they use a hedious form of torture using velvet covered manacles and feathers.  One can only surmise how horrendous the torture is.  I shudder at the very thought of it.
     
    We can only hope that  (1.) that we will recieve some kind of news even if it is in the form of a ransom note.  At with time we can use your Sleuth which I must add are remarkable and known world wide.  Or (2.) Kevin and Doug will suddenly reappear and be able to tell us of their adventures.  And of course I am sure by that time you will have solved the missing tripod episode.
     
    I will do my best to update you with any information I get.
     
    Respectfuly Yours Always
    Dr. Watson (aka Justin)
     
     
     
     
     

  13. Kevin says:

    Hey Justin and Cass,
    Sorry for the mysterious disappearance!  I let some people know we were off to Idaho until the 17th, but some forgot…  🙂

  14. Cassie says:

    We have supposedly received a communication from Kevin saying that he and Doug are in Idaho—Nobdoy COOL goes to Idaho (except under duress) it\’s almost as bad as Texas. Texas, as you know, is so evil it is the breeding ground for those flying monkeys in THE WIZARD OF OZ!!!
     
    As to this note that purports to be from our beloved friend, Kevin. I suspect a forgery. One of Macavity\’s lieutenants (Mugojerrie by name half siamese/hale PERSIAN) is a forgery expert.
    I shall disguise myself as a seductive Maine Coon Cat and attempt to infiltrate Macavity\’s gang…more later….

  15. Justin says:

    Hi Kevin …..thinks silently if you really are Kevin…….It is so good to hear from you finaly…………..whispers low pssssst Cass we have to be careful here Idaho is know for many seceret alien bases.  It could be a ruse to thow us off track.  Oh yeah your comment about Texas and the monkeys.  We exported the last one to the big Zoo in D.C. havent you seen him.  Unfortuantely we understand they are moving him back here and damn of all places he will be in my neighborhood.  Sighs we just cant seem to shake ourselves of them.

  16. Justin says:

    If and when Kevin gets back remind me to have him check this space out.  It really has a spelling problem cause I know I couldnt misspell that many words.  We Texans are better edgicated than that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

