In Michigan

I’ve been in Michigan visiting my family since last week.  I’ll be here until Saturday when I head back home.  I’ve been having a nice time.  My parents own some land in the upper part of lower Michigan and we were there from Thursday through Sunday (and no internet connection).  It was fun.  I’ll have to start whispering in Doug’s ear that we should be on the lookout for a cabin somewhere in California…

Tonight I’m off to my old high school for my niece’s orientation.  I was here a couple of years ago for the nephews.  It is always weird to go back to my high school.  This year is my 25th reunion.  I won’t be going since it is being held in October and I start teaching in less than a month.

I haven’t been blogging that much, but I have been leaving comments at various blogs that I consider to be anti-gay.  One in particular (at Carlotta’s blog) is getting a bit frustrating since some guy named Neil has called me an anti-religious bigot.  That is way too funny!  I can think of lots of things to say to that.  But I figure he is just a bit slow since he doesn’t seem to understand that I won’t put up with having someone else’s religious beliefs pushed on me through the law.  He can’t seem to understand that, so instead of debating with me, he calls names.  As I said to him, he is like a schoolyard bully that needs to make himself feel better by beating up someone else.  I’m glad I could make him feel a bit better…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to In Michigan

  1. Cassie says:

    words literally fail me.

  2. Unknown says:

    "Religion is based, I think, primarily and mainly upon fear. It is partly the terror of the unknown and partly, as I have said, the wish to feel that you have a kind of elder brother who will stand by you in all your troubles and disputes. […] A good world needs knowledge, kindliness, and courage; it does not need a regretful hankering after the past or a fettering of the free intelligence by the words uttered long ago by ignorant men." Bertrand russell say it for me!

  3. Kevin says:

    Hey there,
    That sounds like a great quote!  I\’ll have to remember that.

  4. Cassie says:

    Personally I think any philosopher who has been dead more than a quarter of a century is obsolete. What can he know of modern problems? The world is changing too fast. And Bertrand Russell died in 1970. But since Kevin seems to enjoy him how about this: "
    It has been said that man is a rational animal. All my life I have been searching for evidence which could support this. "

  5. Cassie says:

    And as long as we\’re uoting dead people—how about one from one mf my favorite playwrights and philosphers (he died the year I was born—1950) George Bernard Shaw "Democracy is a device that ensures we shall be governed no better than we deserve."
    Good, huh?

  6. Unknown says:

    Hey, last from me do you like this "Either you repeat the same conventional doctrines everybody is saying, or else you say something true, and it will sound like it\’s from Neptune." Noam Chomsky (living) and my favourite philosopher though he\’s dead, killed by the ratings in 2005 "are there any real queers left" the inimitable Brian Kinney.
     
    Col

  7. Cassie says:

    I could improve on Noam\’s with a different planet in the mix 🙂

  8. Cassie says:

    The main thing we have to worry about now, of course, is Senator Obama\’s choice of "Clueless Joe Biden" for VEEP—which is what my last couple of blog entries on MY windows live space have been about. Well, that and uploading Shadow radio programs to my skydrive for Justin now that Conde Nast Publications (who bought out Street and Smith donkey\’s years ago) have forced the Interney Archive to take down all the episodes they were hosting. (Which weren\’t all that many compared to the more than 200 I have in my collection). MEM: Must add a nice SCARY story for Kevin when he gets back on Saturday…maybe something from the Inner Sanctum oeuvre.  Right now I\’m bouncing over to add an episode of Suspense starring Bela Lugosi. I think Justin will enjoy that.

  9. Cassie says:

    Oh if you\’re into Noam Chomsky check out the cool audio.video files available HERE: http://www.chomsky.info/audionvideo.htm

  10. Cassie says:

    The inimitable Gale Harold (who played Brian Kinney) joined  the cast of "Desperate Housewives"  in the episode "Free" as Susan (Terri Hatcher\’s) husband/boyfriend and he will be back this season. So yoiu can STILL look at him.

  11. Kevin says:

    Hey Cass!  I love Desperate Housewives, but have only seen the first two years.  If I ever get around to seeing the rest of it, I\’ll definitely look for Gale Harold.  🙂

Leave a Reply

