Good News and Sad News

Good News first:  I was at my sister’s place today and quickly looked through their magazine, T.V. Guide.  I don’t know if it is a weekly or monthly magazine.  Inside was a small article about the marriage of Ellen DeGeneres.  The magazine took a poll and asked whether or not gay marriage should be throughout the country and recognized at the national level.  I was expecting bad news, but a full 77% said yes, it should be recognized!  That is totally amazing to me.  I mentioned this to my sister, and she said the country is changing.  She said that I spent too much time reading the anti-gay blogs!  Well, she is certainly right.

 

Now the sad news:  I just got an email that told me that Del Martin, the woman who started the Daughters of Bilitis in the late 1950s and was just married to her partner of 55 years, just died.  It is very sad news.  But I am so glad that these two women who pioneered the gay and lesbian movement in this country had a few months with being married.  I hope her partner is going to be ok.  It has to be so hard.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Good News and Sad News

  1. Cassie says:

    Traditionally it was a weekly magazine—if you\’re talking about the original publication its first issue appeared on April 3, 1953 with a photo of (almost)  new-born Desi Arnaz Jr (he was born in January) howver the current version comes out twice a month and covers two weeks, Or that was the set-up a couple of years ago.
     
    If you\’re interested in learning more about Desi Arnaz Jr (who was really Desi Arnaz IV) visit his website at http://www.desiarnazjr.com/

  2. Kevin says:

    Thanks Cass!
    I am just happy with the poll.  I am still surprised.  But happy!

Leave a Reply

