The Wave of the Future? Let’s Hope Not…

I keep arguing with various people that their religious beliefs are used as weapons against all of us, whether we believe in their religion or not. Some guy has even called me an anti-religious bigot for defending my rights to keep their religious views out of my life. 

I see that in Gainesville Florida some group named Citizens for Good Public Policy have gathered enough signatures to repeal the civil rights that gays and lesbians have had in Gainesville for the past decade.  This means that gays and lesbians can be tossed out of housing for being gay or fired for being gay.  Yes, that is correct.  The rest of Florida doesn’t even have these basic protections.  So now it goes for a vote. 

So this might be the future of the glbt community.  A bunch of so-called religious people trying to force their religious doctrine on the rest of the population.  This same guy who called me an anti-religious bigot also accused me of trying to silence the so-called religious voices.  What a joke.  I will do my best to make sure that these anti-gay voices and actions are spread so that the rest of the population recognize the religious nazis among us.  If you ask me, the entire basis of our democracy is in trouble when the tyranny of the majority becomes commonplace.  This is exactly why we need protection at the federal level.  I can’t see that happening any time soon, but then again, I never thought in my lifetime that I would be married to Doug.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Wave of the Future? Let’s Hope Not…

  1. Cassie says:

    As of 2007-APR, 18 states and the District of Columbia have laws banning discrimination based on sexual orientation:

    A near contiguous group of ten jurisdictions in the Northeast: Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New York, New Jersey, Maryland, and the District of Columbia.

    A contiguous group of four states in the Midwest: Wisconsin, Illinois, Minnesota, and Iowa.

    A contiguous group of four western states: Washington, Oregon, California, Nevada.

    New Mexico and Hawaii.
    31 states are without such protection

  2. Cassie says:

    However, it should be noted that Nevada\’s law (and possibly a few other states on this list) specifically EXCLUDES "Transgendered Persons from the protections—-which is perfectly fine with the gay and lesbian acticist groups locally—at least it was fine with the group in Nevada—I know…I was there),

  3. Cassie says:

    activist not acticist—

  4. Justin says:

    See Cass I told you this couldn\’t spell 🙂
     
    Kevin,
    Be careful when I wrote several pieces proving these nuts were using recycled Nazi propoganda I was written up several times as having turned into a demented hateful left wing Marxist.  Damn and all this time I thought I was an American with the right to free speech and thought.  I guess I need to have Cass check that out for me since some bloggers seem to think I am undermining the whole country. 
     
    I like you fear what can and will happen if enough of us do not stand together and call them to account for their actions.  Now remember it is us who are the Nazis not them Pat Robertson said so, so it must be.  Sorry folks but the Religious Right is neither.
    What these people fail to understand is that if they can deny us any rights how long before some in their group begin to knock on their doors for not being like them.  

  5. Kevin says:

    Hi Cass!  Many thanks for that list!  I am going to have to copy those down.
    Hi Justin!  Great to finally see a picture!  And yes–these people need to be very careful.  At some point they won\’t be the majority and I hope that they remember how they treated other people…

Leave a Reply

