Obama, Muslims and Sound bytes

I saw a Youtube clip of Obama mentioning his ‘Muslim faith’ at Stacy Harp’s blog.  She wants her readers to ‘discern’ whether that was a Freudian slip or not.  However, Stacy Harp only shows a very small clip of the entire interview.  Here is the interview, if you want to discern what is really going on here. 

Here is an example from Stacy’s own blog (Sept. 2):

Stacy Harp Admits that Obama is God!

"The god Obama…"

If you didn’t look at the rest of what Stacy had written, and if you believed what you read, you would think that Stacy now prays to Obama as her god.  But that sound byte is a lie. 

Or how about another one (from the same Sept. 2 entry):

Stacy Harp Kills Babies!

"we kill babies"

Or: 

Stacy Harp Admits That She and her Friends are Evil!

"we are showing exactly how wicked and perverse we are."

 

This is what happens if you only look at the tiny bit that is provided.  The reason this was done was to smear Obama.  I would bet that many people who don’t like Obama will use this little sound byte against him.  But really what they should be doing is discerning the fact that they were only shown a small clip and the person who made it is using this to smear Obama again. 

And let’s just say for the sake of imagination that Obama was a Muslim.  Big deal!  I thought that religious belief was a choice that people make and that this choice is protected…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Obama, Muslims and Sound bytes

  1. Cassie says:

    "I thought that religious belief was a choice that people make and that this choice is protected…"
     
    DID you? Sweet innocent boy….

  2. Deb says:

    You\’re right. Look at all those people who circulated emails upon emails that weren\’t exactly true—or true at all.  But, as for myself, my faith in God comes first, so my vote goes beyond \’what can they do for my marriage rights\’ and I look at the bigger scope of what they\’re fighting for and that\’s where my heart is.  God comes first for me, and many others feel the same way.  Should it be right? Is it wrong?  I don\’t know.  All I know is, the consistency of McCain and Palin\’s faith in God and their values that coincide with my own faith makes me believe that they\’re more consistent.  I also feel the same as Palin regarding pro-life, unless in cases of rape, molestation or incest.   Like yourself, I come from a family who hunted and I\’m pro guns because I feel that 1. I should be allowed to protect myself in my own home 2. Hunt if I wish (can you just imagine?)  and 3.  I need a leader that will have Christian values which is way more important than my marriage rights only because this life, to me, is temporary.  God is 1rst in my life, so that\’s where my vote is. But, I DO understand where people would disagree with McCain and Palin, especially from the gay and lesbian communities.Bibically, it does say that there will be a deceiving leader that will have eloquent speech who will persuade many.  For me, that\’s enough to say, "Oh no, too much smeared stuff and too much proven \’true\’ rumors that make me wanna punch the McCain poll."  Gay Republican—contradictory.  Christian lesbian, also contradictory.  For me it\’s not. The only judge is God in the afterlife. You\’re also going to have to take into consideration that there are TONS of Christians, whether or not they are gay, conservative, fundamentalists or exrtremists that will all go on the same bus towards McCain.  Will it be a fun ride?  Probably not.   That\’ll mean I\’ll have to sit next to someone who has bashed me for my lifestyle, yet I know that my faith is strong enough to bring me through the persecution.  You vote for who "you" feel is most important.   That\’s why we have the luxury of voting for each individual.   Also, remember, politicians lie lie lie!  On BOTH sides.   Can\’t trust any of them. Just go with what your heart feels is right.  {{hugs}} 

  3. Cassie says:

    Obama is very consistant. As a Christian he believes that "marriage should be between a man and a woman" but as one who aspirews to the Presidency he also understands that the rights of all citizens need to be guarded. One of the principles to be found in our Consitution is the separation of church and state. Those who aspire to civil leadership cannot allow religion to influence how they serve the people. Certainly their religious convictions inform their actions (how could it be otherwise?) but equality under CIVIL laws cannot be compromised. Obama understands that. McCain does not. Decision obvious.

  4. Married to my best friend says:

    I can\’t say how many times I hear people say about the "separation of church and state" that is in the Constitution. There is one request that I have for you or anyone else who uses that false statement. Rather than repeat something you have heard, and blindly believed, read the Constitution and tell me where it states that there a "separation" of church and state. I cannot imagine how anyone could believe that Obama is fit to be president, with all of the major contradictions to himself that he has had.

  5. Kevin says:

    Hi there \’Engaged.\’  I think you meant to leave this comment in my previous post on Church and State form the other day.
    I clearly stated:
    "And that got me thinking about why religion, which is certainly a real choice that people make, is protected?  Why?  Because the founding fathers knew exactly what some Christians were like.  All they had to do was look over the pond to see what a mess Christians had made of Europe.  Christian fighting Christian.  It tore Europe apart.  It caused wars.  It caused schisms.  It caused migration to this country.  The founding fathers knew the mess that Christians could make if they all were allowed to fight against each other over their beliefs.  So they made sure that everyone would have the freedom to believe what they wanted–without being killed over it.  And they weren\’t allowed to kill over it either.
    Ask yourself why the founding fathers didn\’t create an official church of the United States?  Since they didn\’t do this, you need to think of the reason why they didn\’t. 
    About the contradictions in Obama–do you really think that McCain does not have contradictions?  Jeez.  In 2000 he called Jerry Falwell an Agent of Intolerance:
    "Neither party should be defined by pandering to the outer reaches of American politics and the agents of intolerance, whether they be Louis Farrakhan or Al Sharpton on the left, or Pat Robertson or Jerry Falwell on the right." (http://transcripts.cnn.com/TRANSCRIPTS/0002/28/se.01.html) but when McCain needed these agents of intolerance to get elected, it was a different story (http://thinkprogress.org/2006/04/02/mccain-falwell/). 
    How about another contradiction from McCain.  He used to think that Roe v. Wade was a good law.  Now, conveniently, he wants it overturned:
    "In 1999, when McCain was on the presidential campaign trail, he took a different stance on the abortion law."Certainly in the short term, or even the long term, I would not support repeal of Roe vs. Wade , which would then force x number of women in America to [undergo] illegal and dangerous operations," he told the San Francisco Chronicle at the time.But on Sunday, during a campaign stop in Spartanburg, S.C., McCain — once again a Republican presidential contender — stated: "I do not support Roe vs. Wade . It should be overturned."
    So does McCain want women of America to go through illegal and dangerous operations because he contradicted himself?
    There are lots more where these came from.  So tell me again–why won\’t you vote for Obama?
     

  6. Kevin says:

    p.s. "Engaged":
    I never mentioned the words "separation of church and state" either in this post or the one I titled "Church and State."
     

Leave a Reply

