Gardening

This is the time to plant the winter garden here in California and I have been having a great time doing it. I hate to think that summer is over, but I love the idea of planting things now that I can eat over the winter!  So far I have planted snap peas, lettuce, arugula bok choi (all three of which came up already), beets (which are also coming up), broccoli rabi, brussel sprouts, cauliflower and onions.  Some of the little onions are having a hard time, but the squirrels keep digging in the new garden beds.  The other day I picked off two big containers of tomatoes, cooked them up and froze them so we will have them this winter.  The tomato plants we put in in July are just about ready–but they are close to the area that has no fence, so I’m not sure if they will survive until we can pick them.  Oh well…  I also need to put in parsnips and get a set of cabbage plants. 

Today I went to Costco and bought over 200 bulbs that I’ll put in front our our front porch.  The front yard is a real mess–at least it seems that way to me.  The previous owners were elderly and they had the entire front yard (about 45 feet long and 25 foot deep) covered in plastic and then poured red lava rock over it.  I hate it!  It is just the rock, some very ugly geraniums, and two giant palm trees.  But luckily there is a 2′ wide strip of dirt between the porch and the rock.  And that is where I’ll put in all of these bulbs.  Later today I might start drawing out what I think the front yard should look like.  Doug wants a detailed plan before we start getting rid of that rock. I would rather get rid of the rock and then make a plan.  But as soon as the rains start, a bare front yard would certainly grow into a big pile of weeds.  So I will try to draw up a plan.  But in the meantime I am going to put those 200 bulbs in so that they will be ready by the time spring comes around. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

