Good News! New Poll on Prop. 8!!!

It looks like the anti-gay marriage ballot initiative is having some real problems.  I suppose that is what happens when people are asked to take away a right that has already been given–and there have been no disasters!  Today a Field Poll shows that just 38% of likely voters will vote to take away the right of gays and lesbians to marry, while 55% of likely voters will vote NO on Prop. 8. 

The breakdown of voters who will vote to take away the right to marry is not surprising:  72% of Conservatives support taking away the right and 52% of Protestants.  60% of evangelical Christians will probably vote to take away the right.  The good news about these numbers is that 21% of Conservatives, 40% of Protestants and 34% of Evangelical Christians will vote No to preserve the right to marry.  That is really good news.

And surprising to me–55% of Catholics and 71% of those with other religions or no preference will vote NO to preserve the right to marry. 

That sounds like a good reason to have a minor celebration tonight while we both watch our wedding video again!  🙂

 

Vote NO on Prop. 8 to Preserve Marriage!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Good News! New Poll on Prop. 8!!!

  1. Justin says:

    This does sound like good news.  I really hope the voters have understood the situation and do not fall for all the hokey pokey BS being put out by the Religious Right. 
     
    Lawdy you do sound like a old married couple just sittin around watching your wedding video.

  2. Kevin says:

    Hey Justin!
    So how did you weather the storm?  I hope everything went well.  Yes, this is good news.  And no, we didn\’t watch the wedding video last night!  🙂 

  3. Justin says:

    Didnt watch the video eh hmmmmmm 🙂
     
    We did quite well with the storm actually.  We only got a little lightning and rain some wind but the worst of it was to the east of us.
    For all the fuss it turned out to miss us but you never know so its better to be prepared.  I cannot believe the yoyo\’s that decided to ride out the storm on the island.  That was just crazy.
     
     

  4. Kevin says:

    Hey Justin–o.k., which video?  And how could I miss one?
    Great to hear it all missed you.  My parents live in Michigan, and they got 6 inches of rain from it.  Amazing if you think about it!

  5. Cassie says:

    Hi, Kevin!
     
    My parents would be proud of me. I\’ve finally preached a sermon just as though I\’d gone on to become the Minister of the Gospel they always wanted me to be. It\’s my latest blog entry—INTERLUDE—CHRISTIANS HELL-BENT FOR HELL. Probably the first question anyone will ask me is do I really think the Holy Spirit or whatever whispered it to me? I couldn\’t answer that with a simple yes or no. I mean, I doubt it, since I am not a Christian—but then again, is it possible that God, being unable to get his word to his people because even their chosen priests and preachers have stopped listening being blinded by their own bigotry might choose another channel of communication—one who is at least listening with an open heart?
     
    That\’s possible too. But it isn\’t a job I\’d want on a continuing basis. I\’m more interested in cryptid hunting at the moment.
    But feel free to guide your Christian friends to that entry if you think it would help.
     
    Cass

  6. Cassie says:

    On second thought nevermind…I was just by my space to see how many hits the post had had and it has myseriously disappeared,

Leave a Reply

