My First Woodworking Project

We have been extremely lucky with having the families that we do.  Both sides are very supportive and loving.  We can’t ask for better families.  For a number of years now I have been wanting to try woodworking.  I want to make our own furniture.  So while we were in Idaho, Doug’s aunt and uncle gave us their miter saw and on our way home from Eugene, Doug’s sister Jody and her husband Jeff gave us an extra electric sander that they had.  Then, when I was in Michigan my brother gave us a band saw and my parents mailed it out to us.  It came on Friday.  And after I got back from Michigan, Doug’s sister Jody called us to tell us that she and Jeff and Doug’s parents, Mac and Cheryl, gave us a table saw and a router.  They brought them down last weekend and Doug and I finally had a chance to put the table saw together (or I should say the portable stand that it came with).  We got that put together and I went out today to turn it on for the first time.  I’ve never used a table saw before and while I was in Michigan I tried a band saw.  So I was a little hesitant to try them on my own (Doug was at work).  I thought I would just try and make a few cuts and call that good.  But then I decided I might as well try to make something, so I made my first birdhouse.  I am pretty happy with it.  It took a couple of tries to get things right, and I still don’t have the roof angle quite right, but I don’t think the birds will mind.  I tried cutting the roof angle freehand on the band saw and I should have used something as a guide.  Next time…

Here it is.  Now I just need to paint it and get it outside.  The right side swings out for easy cleaning and I need to find something to keep it from accidentally opening up.  I’ll do that tomorrow after I get back from the university.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My First Woodworking Project

  1. Cassie says:

    I like your bird house

  2. Kevin says:

    Thanks Cass!
    Let\’s hope the birds like it.  I was thinking of decorating it with disco balls and pink paint…

  3. Cassie says:

    Some throw pillows would be nice too.
    And don\’t forget the windows! Let in the LIGHT!

Leave a Reply

