Defending the Faith or Advocating Violence?

I’ve been pretty good lately about not commenting on comments I make at other people’s blog.  I’ve been pretty active at leaving comments at a blog called Christocentric, written by a divorced woman named Carlotta.  She seems pretty reasonable, as far as she is allowed to be reasonable.  Tonight though, I think she got a little over-excited by a rant she found on a blog.  She has added his blog to her of ‘Faith Defenders’ blogroll.  Usually I could care less who someone puts on their blog roll, but she seems to think this guy, whose YouTube video she put up on her blog, is defending her faith.  If you can stand to listen to this guy, here it is.  Below the video I put my comment I left at Carlotta’s:

 

Hey Carlotta,
What??? How can you give a plug for this guy?
Let’s look at some of what he had to say (and he can say a lot…).

He believes that gays can be born gay (lots and lots of conservatives totally disagree with that). But, he states that gays are born abnormal. What that really means is God allowed something abnormal to be born. I suggest this guy think about what he says before he shoots off. Shockingly, he also states that having 11 fingers is abnormal and what should be done about it? Cut one off. What does that suggest, Carlotta, that he is referring to? Think about it.

Also, he expresses his OPINION that being gay is a mental illness. It is only his opinion. No one today who knows what they are talking about believes that being gay is a mental illness. Many thought that black men were violent and highly sexual (and therefore a danger to white women), but that was only an opinion. His belief is a slap in the face to every gay and lesbian out there.

He also makes the absurd claim that gay women aren’t really gay–they are just confused. This guy doesn’t have a clue what he is saying–but that doesn’t stop him from saying it. He just blabbers on and on.

He claims his skin color is natural. He says it is not a defect and not abnormal. Well, guess what? My being gay is natural. It is not a defect and not abnormal. Clearly he can’t think beyond his own religious beliefs (if that is really what they are–I couldn’t tell from all his ranting). This argument can work both ways.

He tells gays and lesbians to leave God and the black community out of what we are trying to do. Good God! If that were only true (at least the God part–there are lots of black gays and lesbians). Please, please–leave God out of this. But that is what he says, but listen to his entire rant–he can’t stop injecting God and the black community into the lives of gays and lesbians. I have been begging to leave God out of this since the beginning–but God keeps getting injected back into every discussion on gays and lesbians. As I said, this gay marriage issue is really a religious issue. He just proves my point.

He also says: “homosexuals, we ain’t against you, man. We would so much rather be your friend than your enemy.” Well, mr whatever your name is–prove that. His entire video is one big attack on the gay community. He couldn’t be a friend to the gay community if he tried.

Anyway Carlotta, I suggest you really listen to that little rant of his again before going off and supporting him 100%–especially that comment about cutting out any abnormality. If someone suggested cutting out the black community because they were abnormal, what exactly would you do–support that person???

He isn’t defending your faith–he uses lies and ignorance to make a 8 1/2 minute ignorant attack.

 

Carlotta leaves this comment at his blog:

Zo, you are awesome! I’m ashamed I haven’t heard about you and your site sooner!
I’ve added you to my "Faith Defenders" blogroll because your blog is just too important and lively for Christ to past up!
Your video on gay marriage is right on time for California – my featured post for the next few days!
— Carlotta

September 25, 2008 1:17 PM

 

Awesome?  All I can say is ‘wow.’  And that isn’t a good ‘wow’ either.  I think she should be ashamed for promoting lies and ignorance such as this…

And in case Carlotta doesn’t understand what he is saying with his ’11 finger, cut off the abnormal’ part–he is advocating getting rid of the gay and lesbian community.  That is the only thing I can think of–cut off the abnormal part so that everything can be normal again.  Wow.  All I can say is that Carlotta had better really sit down and listen to what this guy is saying.  I know it is hard–he rants and rants and rants and most of the time he makes no logical sense.  But since she is giving this guy a plug and thinks he is great, she better know what she is getting herself into. 

She also thinks he makes a great argument why one shouldn’t compare black to gay (as if there were no black gays!).  What this guy doesn’t seem to know is that blacks were enslaved by the West primarily because slavery is mentioned in the Bible.  Blacks were kept as slaves in this country and the Bible was the primary weapon against them.  Blacks were kept separate in this country, even until the 1960s, because of the way people were using the Bible.  There is no argument here–that is what happened.  This guy can’t seem to add two and two to see that black people and gay people have been attacked by the bible.  Either he doesn’t know the connection or more likely, he doesn’t want to acknowledge it.  That is too bad for him (and those who think like him) but as I said the other day when I talked about the date of the Emancipation Proclamation, it is very sad when one group who got their rights tries to prevent another group from being treated as equals.  And this guy adds a touch of violence to the mix.  That isn’t sad–that is dangerous.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Defending the Faith or Advocating Violence?

  1. Deb says:

    This guy seems very simple-minded.  His last sentence indicates that he believes all blacks and all gays are democrats.  I\’m Republican and a lesbian.   First of all, people like him are the ones who keep blacks and whites separated still to this day because of what people did long ago. Let. it. go. Learning about your ancestors\’ history is a wonderful thing, but stop playing "the black card" all the time and realize people aren\’t out to hurt you.  Not all.   There are some people who are ready to insult, discriminate and cast you out – and cast ALL of us out. If he has no sympathy for other people who get discriminated over, then this makes my sympathy for him even less.  This type of mentality reminds me of why I am not voting for Obama.   After hearing what his church believes AND Obama believes, I choose to separate myself from people like him; people who are discriminative and rude.  He has no human qualities whatsoever.   So for him: THANK YOU for giving me more reason to vote McCain/Palin!  I dislike how some people (like him) can catagorize everyone into ONE bulk, and say, "All of them push their sexuality in our faces"—–NO.   Some do. I agree.  In parades, some are very flamoyant and will \’put it in your face\’ so to speak. But there are gays and lesbians like you and me Keven, who live our lives as homosexuals and leave the bedroom out of it.  We don\’t push anything in anyone\’s faces: we defend ourselves in a tacful way (maybe mine a bit more crass), but we have every right to talk about our lives.    If that includes our other homosexual partner—–it\’s just the same as a heterosexual person talking about his or her husband or wife.  These type of people make me sick Kevin.  What about heterosexual married couples who cannot have kids?  Should they divorce and find another mate who can bear children?  Oh wait—-wouldn\’t that be "adultery" if they divorced and met someone else while their ex is still alive? Such hypocrites.

  2. Kevin says:

    Hi Deb!
    I second everything you said except about voting for McCain/Palin!  🙂
    And this guy doesn\’t think you are a lesbian–he thinks you are \’confused.\’  I have some choice words to say about that to him, but I\’ll keep those to myself…

  3. Cassie says:

    If Christians practiced Christianity it would be  much nicer world.  What they don\’t get is the reason BEHIND some of Christ\’s teaching—especially that bit in Matthew Chapter 5 I mentioned before about "giving to them who ask something of you." It isn\’t, as in this case, a sign that one "accepts" or "approves" of same-sex marriages. The reason was because of the kind of thinking Carlotta is demonstrating when she approved this gentleman\’s video. It is the spiritual danger TO his flock from the kind of thrills they get when they use the Bible for gay-bashing (or any OTHER kind of bashing, for that matter). THEY know what I mean, that thing inside of them that seems to rub its hands together and chuckle gleefully whenever they say or post something particularly hurtful and nasty about someone or some other group than their own. That feeling shows they are falling under the Power of Evil and they need to back up and really consider their OWN salvation before worrying about anyone elses.

  4. Justin says:

    Ok I listened to this and he is not only homophobic but if you really listened he is also a racist.  After the discussions Cass and I had with Carlotta I do not find it suprising in the least that she supports this pathetic excuse as a individual.  Ok Im just going to come right out and say what we all know and just have not said before but the truth of the matter is in their own actions.
     
    Carlotta and people like this individual are in fact Anti-Christ, Anti-G-d and have fallen for the satanic lies and teachings of the Apostate Church that Jesus and the head of the first real Christian Church James warned them about.  They are the children of Satan.
     
    James 411 Speak not evil one of another, brethren. He that speaketh evil of his brother, and judgeth his brother, speaketh evil of the law,
         and judgeth the law: but if thou judge the law, thou art not a doer of the law, but a judge. 12 There is one lawgiver, who is able to save and to destroy: who art thou that judgest another?
     
    It is not funny that they preach the Bible as the absolute word of G-d yet refuse to actually live as it tells them to live.  And I know they definetly do not like people like Cass and I who call them on these things.  Carlotta should understand even Satan has no problem using the bible and preaching sermons that teach them to hate 🙂
     
     
    They should practice what James said.

  5. Kevin says:

    Hi Cass,
    I totally agree.
    Hi Justin–I found him to be racist as well.  He seems to have a real problem with white people.  And I love that quote from James.  However, Carlotta and this nitwit will refuse to believe that it applies to them…

  6. Cassie says:

    From the wisdom of our Native American brothers and sisters I offer this anecdote as told by author David Walks-As-Bear:
     
    An old Indian is telling his grandson about a fight that is going on inside of himself. He said that the struggle is like that between two wolves.
    One wolf is evil: Anger, envy, sorrow, regret, greed, arrogance, self-pity, guilt, resentment, inferiority, lies, false pride, superiority and ego…
    The other wolf is good: Joy, peace, love, hope, serenity, humility, kindness, benevolence, empathy, generosity, truth, compassion and faith…
    The boy thought about it for a minute and then asked his elder, "But which wolf wins, Grandfather?"
    The old man smiled as he looked at the boy and replied, "The one I feed."
     
    You can find David on the web at http://www.walks-as-bear.com/
     

  7. Kevin says:

    Hey Cass?  Do you read Joe Brummer\’s blog?  He told me this exact same story a couple of years ago and it really affected the way I think about things.  He occasionally reminds me of it when I want to go off on a rant myself…  🙂
     

  8. Kevin says:

    Whoops–that should be:
    Hey Cass!

  9. Cassie says:

    No, sorry…never heard of him (until now, of course, when I looked him up and found myself at a place called The Center for Non-Viloent Communication).

  10. Cassie says:

    Wups! Hey, Kevin! Anyway I guess it\’s a pretty old story they both tell (I gave you David\’s website in my entry with the story), But it\’s a GOOD story and needs to be retold OFTEN for those who HAVEN\’T heard it.  Or that\’s what I think anyway.

Leave a Reply

