When My Comments are Edited

***UPDATE***

Carlotta has had the good sense to remove all the links to Paul Cameron.  It isn’t because she disagrees with some of what he has written (sigh).  She thinks that he is factually true in some things (sigh).  And that he is a Christian, so she isn’t going to be writing bad things about him (ugh).  And to make sure I understood this, she sent me an email telling me she didn’t need "to point how many gay men rub feces on their partners."  Yes, those were her words.  I wrote her back and told her I didn’t need to hear about the same thing about the heterosexuals.  I probably shouldn’t have written her back.  But I did. 

****

I tend to leave comments on various blogs, almost every day.  I expect that when I leave a comment it will remain exactly as I had written it–or totally rejected.  One blog I comment on quite a bit is run by a woman named Carlotta and her blog is called Christocentric.  The particular post I commented on was titled "The Negative Effects of Same-Sex Marriage" (and now you can understand why I left comments there!).  The other day Carlotta put up a long article by the totally discredited Paul Cameron.  I left a comment about this, which she refused to post it.  That is fine, because she then took down the article on Cameron but still left links to his discredited website.  I told her to do her own research into Cameron.  I assumed she would do this.  Even Focus on the Family won’t use him (and that tells you quite a bit about the so-called ‘research’ he does). 

Anyway, one of Carlotta’s readers left a comment questioning the use of Cameron, since she thought it was just using scare tactics.  My guess is that Kayla didn’t know the background of Paul Cameron, but she certainly picked up the problems by carefully reading what Carlotta had left.  She said this:

i don’t support homosexuality b/c the Bible says that it’s a sin but i don’t think that all gay people want to have uncommitted relationships and wild, AIDS-filled sex lives. while there are some people who might feel that way, the gay people that i know are interested in the same old committed relationships that heterosexual people have, even if they end up with the same chances of divorce.

this article definitely has the feel of freaking people out so they oppose gay marriage.

 

Carlotta argued with her about this.  Here is part of what she said:

"So “scary” as these statistics may be, they are true. If I’m giving the appearance of scaring folks away from approving same-sex marriages – you betcha I am!

God didn’t make homosexuality a sin for no reason, He did so for our benefit – as with any sin He’s listed in His word. Science just puts an exclamation mark on what God has already warned us about."

I pointed out to Carlotta that these statistics were definitely not true at all and I pointed out some problems to her. 

 

Now skip to today.  I left Carlotta this comment:

Carlotta–you keep saying: "Did you even read where David Parker in Massachusetts had NO CHOICE in his child’s education?" He did have a right! He had the right to take his kids out of school. He and his wife had the option of not accepting the bag of books that came home–they seemed to be unaware of what was going on in their child’s education. That isn’t the fault of the school–that is bad parenting. Clearly the Supreme Court saw this and refused to act. That alone should tell you something about the truth of what happened in Mass.

Oh, did you know that Paul Cameron has been kicked out of numerous academic societies because of his lies about gays and lesbians? At least Kayla should know about this, so I hope you let her see this comment.

But this is what Carlotta published:

Carlotta–you keep saying: “Did you even read where David Parker in Massachusetts had NO CHOICE in his child’s education?” He did have a right! He had the right to take his kids out of school. He and his wife had the option of not accepting the bag of books that came home–they seemed to be unaware of what was going on in their child’s education. That isn’t the fault of the school–that is bad parenting. Clearly the Supreme Court saw this and refused to act. That alone should tell you something about the truth of what happened in Mass.

That was it.  She went into my comment and cut out what she didn’t like–the fact that I wanted Kayla to know about Paul Cameron.  And Carlotta never said that she had edited my comment.  That made me mad.  I would be happy if she rejected the entire comment–but to cut out a bit without saying anything goes beyond the bounds of decency, at least in my opinion.  She took what I wrote and changed it–and I have to wonder why.  Did she not want her ‘sister in Christ’ to know that she supports someone who is totally discredited–even on the conservative Christian side of things?  I’m not sure why Carlotta wouldn’t want Kayla to know this bit of information about Paul Cameron.

Here is the comment I left Carlotta (and my guess is that she won’t print it and I’ve learned to save all my comments…):

Hi Carlotta–What exactly is ‘objectionable’? Do you mean that a parent should be able to take their kids out if a teacher is going to be talking about civil rights and the parent is a racist? Do you mean that a parent should take their kids out of school if they are going to learn about communism when the parents are U.S. patriots? Or do you mean that they should take them out whenever something goes against a religious belief?

Boy, you would have no kids in class if every time a parent didn’t like what little Johnny and Janie were learning about.

And Carlotta–you purposefully edited my comments! I told you that Kayla had the right to know that Paul Cameron has been kicked out of many academic societies–what part of that breaks your comment law? Do me a favor–either don’t publish my comments or if you are going to edit them–then at least tell your readers that you have cut something out. I’ll send an email to Kayla just to make sure she gets some real facts about Paul Cameron, whom you are supporting.

And I did take the liberty to send an email to Kayla to let her know about Paul Cameron.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When My Comments are Edited

  1. Ted says:

    I respect how willing you are to engage people like Carlotta. I was banned because I called her a hypocrite. Apparently, this is a personal attack, as opposed to statement of truth. Of course, she keeps saying that we\’re going to hell, are inherently immoral, and so on. Good luck trying to get her to be fair and truthful. She\’s incapable of doing anything that might contradict her absolutist worldview.

  2. Kevin says:

    Well, sometimes I think it is working and sometimes not.  She told me she took down her links to Paul Cameron.  It\’s not that she totally disagrees with him. She found some of what he written to be \’factual.\’  But the good Christian woman sent me an email this morning with this to say:
    "No more mentioning of Paul Cameron on my site whether people retrack statements against him or not.  It\’s just not necessary to me to point out how many gay men rub feces on their partners.  You know what I mean?"
    Ah.  So the truth comes out and another Camerite is born…

Leave a Reply

