Prop. 8–Why it is not the right thing to do

Here is the wording of Proposition 8.  I find it amazing and cowardly that those who will vote yes refuse to say that their yes vote is to take away a right that has already been given.  Yes, they are cowards.  But I can understand.  If I were going to do some discriminating against another group of people and do it proudly, I wouldn’t want to admit it openly either.  Here is the wording:

 

ELIMINATES RIGHT OF SAME-SEX COUPLES TO MARRY. INITIATIVE CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENT. Changes the California Constitution to eliminate the right of same-sex couples to marry in California. Provides that only marriage between a man and a woman is valid or recognized in California. Fiscal Impact: Over next few years, potential revenue loss, mainly sales taxes, totaling in the several tens of millions of dollars, to state and local governments. In the long run, likely little fiscal impact on state and local governments.

 

So what American would proudly vote to take away a right?   In my humble opinion, this shouldn’t even be on the ballot.  Does anyone know if there has ever been a right given, and then an election was held to take away a right?  I’ve never heard of it before, but I could be wrong.  I hope that lawyers will begin to look into the legality of this whole proposition, whether it passes or not.  I would imagine that there are lawyers already looking into it.  Hey–how about if we vote to take away the rights of single-parent families?  Why don’t we vote to take away the rights of Christians to spread hate and ignorance?  Why don’t we take away the rights of minorities in this country?  Why don’t we do this (well, I am assuming that we won’t do this in the future, but once the gate has been opened, it can’t be closed)?  Because it isn’t right.  It isn’t American. 

This also will lead to an interesting dilemma for me.  For my employment by the State of California, I am asked to pledge my adherence to the State Constitution. But what happens if Prop. 8 passes?  Do I have to pledge my allegiance to a Constitution that actively discriminates against me?  Hmm.  We’ll see about that.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Prop. 8–Why it is not the right thing to do

  1. Cassie says:

    How can you give allegiance to a constitution that denies you equal rights with other citizens? A lesson can be learned here from our African-American Brethren who served this country loyally during the Revolutionary War—most people don\’t know that the Continental Army was fully integrated—which would not happen again until World War II. Yet the Constitution of the United States only counted a black as three fifths of a person. And while that was going on African-Americans like Crispus Attucks, Peter Salem, Prince Estabrook, Prince Whipple (who can be seen in that famous picture of Washington Crossing the Delaware  http://www.metmuseum.org/explore/gw/el_gw_bigimage.htm), James Armistead LaFayette and many many more fought for this nation KNOWING that the day when THEY would have "equal rights" might be far off indeed. Slavery was not even abolished until 1833 and "equal rights" would take even longer. Yet they remained loyal to America serving with distinction in WW II, Korea, Viet-Nam etc etc. I guess it CAN be done if one has faith that someday discrimination will end.
    My hope is that today, in California, will see the beginning of the end of discrimination against the GLBT Community—but if not—it WILL happen one day.

  2. Cassie says:

    Incidentally—you\’re right about Proposition 8 being unconstitutional under the Constitution of the United States. The 1th Amendment clearly says in Section 1: "All persons born or naturalized in the United States, and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of the United States and of the state wherein they reside. No state shall make or enforce any law which shall abridge the privileges or immunities of citizens of the United States; nor shall any state deprive any person of life, liberty, or property, without due process of law; nor deny to any person within its jurisdiction the equal protection of the laws."

  3. Kevin says:

    Hi Cass,
    I told Doug about my dilemma and all he had to say was, well, if Prop. 8 passes, that is the law.  He meant that I should follow the law, even though it will be against me.  Sounds like good advice to me, I guess.  You are right though–I should trust that the law will change (of course, this is assuming that Prop. 8 will pass–if it doesn\’t, I will absolutely love my State Constitution!).  The right always wins out.  But jeez, I hate having to wait for it!
    Kevin
     

Leave a Reply

