The Election

I will be so glad when this is all over!  I have been pretty nervous all day thinking about Prop. 8 and whether I will be married or not tomorrow.  Some things did make me happy in the last day.  On my way to teaching last night there was a large group of No on 8 people standing out on the same street corner that Doug and I stood on last weekend.  I was so happy to see them.  I grabbed my own No on 8 poster (which I have been keeping in the car close at hand!) and beeped.  And I saw a few people out today with their No on 8.  No sign of the Yes on 8 people.  Thank God.

Another thing that made me happy was the flop of a meeting in San Diego called the Call. 

Tonight I had someone tell me (on another blog) that I never should have been given the right to marry in the first place.  This comes from a black, divorced woman.  What audacity to tell me that.  Why?  Because clearly she doesn’t know her own history.  She was given her rights by a court.  If her rights were up for a vote, I think we would still have separate but equal doors to businesses and segregation.  It is pure audacity to tell me this too because she is divorced.  Sure, she stated that her husband cheated on her, and Christ says that is the only reason for divorce, but that doesn’t take away from the fact that God HATES divorce.  What she did, God HATES.  But that doesn’t stop her from voting away my right (which she thinks I shouldn’t have in the first place).  She also can’t see the hypocrisy in this at all.  It is also audacity because as a woman, she received the right to vote less than 100 years ago.  And look what she has done with that vote–she voted to take away a right that has already been given.  She is extremely lucky that I support the full rights of African Americans.  She is lucky that I support the full rights of those who are divorced (even those, as a Christian, she should be working on a ballot to change the state Constitution to disallow all divorces and force those who have been divorced to be remarried).  She is also lucky that I fully support women’s rights to equal treatment as opposed to McCain and Palin, who she (not surprisingly) voted for. 

Finally, I think it is absolutely un-American to vote to take away the right of someone else.  I have to wonder what group is next in their sites.  I guess we will soon see.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

