People vote for the rights of chickens, but not People in California

Here is a Letter to the Editor in the S.F. Chronicle today:

Rights for chickens

Editor – Only in California do we vote for the rights of chickens over the rights of human beings. Proposition 8 is a black mark against an otherwise inspirational election. Shame on us.

LAURA BRADLEY

Petaluma

 

How’s that for speaking the truth?

I also read that 7 out of 10 African Americans voted to take my right away, as well as a good percentage of Latino Americans and Asian Americans.  All I can say to all of them is "how does it feel now to be the oppressor?  Feels good, huh?"

As I just said in my comment section in the previous post, education is the key here. For some reason these people think that they can vote my right away, and yet be overjoyed that they have their own rights.   I could never imagine voting to take a right away from anyone.  It is un-American in my view.  It is also cowardly.  One person said she didn’t vote against me, but for the proposition itself.  Right.  What these people don’t want to face, or can’t face, is that there are real, live people that have been affected by this hateful proposition.  I just never hope that their rights are never put up for a vote. 

And although it is depressing, in another respect I feel totally energized.  If anything, Prop. 8 shows that those who hate gays and lesbians are dropping in numbers.  I would have liked to see it not passed, but the anti-gay activists have helped to expose their own weakness here.  The tide is turning.  I keep hearing people say that they never thought they would live to see the day that an African American be president.  I am one of those people.  Now I say, I hope to live to see the day when we have a gay or lesbian president.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to People vote for the rights of chickens, but not People in California

  1. Wood says:

    I wouldn\’t get  emotional yet. if you check long enough on the web, you may come across some legal thoughts as to how the coming court battle will look.
    One group is contemplating a scorched earth policy.
    Get ready for some very odd legal arguments if the path of battle leads back to the courts.

  2. Cassie says:

    All that I have to add beyond my original blog entry on this issue can be read in my latest
    http://cass-of-shadows.spaces.live.com/blog/cns!933F5A04C51C4305!8623.entry
     

  3. Cassie says:

    As for a gay or lesbian President—we\’ve already had a Drag Queen in charge of the FBI what more can we ask for? 🙂

Leave a Reply

