Just some news

I’m still sick with the flu.  Will it ever leave?  Last night I had a 103 fever and 102 today.  I do feel a bit better today, though.  I at least managed to stay up for more than 2 hours at a time…

Yesterday my brother-in-law’s dad died.  I’ve known Mr. James (Steve’s dad) and Mrs. James (Steve’s mom who passed away August 2007) since I was a little kid.  I was lucky to see Mr. James in August when I was out visiting everyone in Michigan in August.  He was 95 and seemed to be in good health.  My sister is taking it particularly hard since she has spent a lot of time with him and she was there with him when he died.

Finally, I watched Dr. Phil for the first time in about 4 years and I can see why I stopped watching it–I think there is only about 15 minutes of content and 45 minutes of crappy commercials!  It was on Prop. 8.  I found it interesting that no one on the Yes on 8 side would or could state that they worked to take away a right that the court had already given.  They can pretend that they didn’t do that, but that won’t change the fact that Prop. 8 was about eliminating a right.  Period.

Let’s home the State Supreme Court will dump Prop. 8 in the garbage heap.  If not, there will be a new measure on the ballot in 2010 to repeal Prop. 8.  The side of justice only needs to convince 2% +1 voters who voted yes to see that they voted wrong and did something very anti-American. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Just some news

  1. Joe says:

    Hope you feel better! 

  2. Justin says:

    Please accedpt my condolences in the loss of your extended family memeber. 
     
    I hope you have contacted your doctor to at least get some antibiotics.  Some of these virus\’s going around are not to be trifeled with
    because they are becoming what is called more exotic and harder to treat. Normally I would say  8 oz. of hot lemonade mixed with a shot of 101 proof burbon and crawl under the covers and sweat it out but your fever concerns me.  If you havent called the doctor please do.  

  3. Justin says:

    Just a quick side note.  You can try the oldest remedy known, Chicken Noodle Soup 🙂  it does have some benifit to it.

  4. Kevin says:

    Hi Joe and Justin,
    Thanks!  I\’ve thought about calling the doctor and will probably do so tomorrow if I keep having a fever.  I felt much better today, but to my surprise I had a 102 fever again.  Monday is my long day for teaching (9-2:30 and 5:30-8:30) so I hope I feel a heck of a lot better tomorrow!

  5. Cassie says:

    I commiserate with you. Feeling lousy myself (though not from Flu). Sorry for your loss, too.

  6. Kevin says:

    Hi Cass,
    I hope you are feeling better too!  I hate being sick.  Now I am just dead tired.  I just dragged myself to the library to have a book for this weekend (we\’re driving up to Eugene Oregon to be with Doug\’s family). 

  7. Cassie says:

    I\’m about back to abnormal 🙂 As anyone can tell from reading my latest blog entry "Me and the Night-Beasts"
    http://cass-of-shadows.spaces.live.com/blog/cns!933F5A04C51C4305!8742.entry

  8. Kevin says:

    Hey Cass,
    Luckily my hunger came back yesterday, which was the first time in over a week.  I didn\’t manage to eat very much today (we\’re at Doug\’s parents in Oregon), but that probably isn\’t a bad thing!

  9. Cassie says:

    No, best to take it slow—renenber what happened to Hephaistion!!!!

  10. Robert says:

    Hey Kevin, I hope you are doing good. Btw Justin has been sick and so have I, and we are blaming your blog…LOL!

  11. Kevin says:

    Hey Rob! I can\’t believe it–I have now come down with a cold! It must be from seeing 100 students per week.

Leave a Reply

