More Work in the Garden

This weekend we did a bit more work on the garden.  We bought three blueberry bushes, which are apparently supposed to get 6 feet tall!  We planted them in front of our small side porch.  We figure it will give us a bit of privacy as well as some yummy blueberries.  I also just planted an artichoke plant.  I was hoping to buy some small ones, but I could only get 6 (which we didn’t want).  So I got one larger one.  We ate our first brussel sprouts yesterday and boy were they good!  Doug thought he didn’t like them, but he liked ours. 

I was also pretty happy our seed order came in from Burpee.  We ordered (sorry about the capitalization–I just cut and pasted our order):

ZINNIA PURPLE PRINCE

CELOSIA GLOWING SPEARS

GOMPHRENA STRAWBERRY FIELDS

POPPY VENUS

ZINNIA WHITE WEDDING

SALVIA FARINACEA VICTORIA

ZINNIA OLD MEXICO

DESIGNED GARDEN CUTTING

CELERY TALL UTAH 52-70R IMPRVD

CUCUMBER BUSH CHAMPION

SQUASH SUNRAY HYB

TOMATO STEAK SANDWICH HYB

GOURD-ORN SMALL FANCY MXD CLRS

SQUASH BURPEE BUTTERBUSH

SQUASH BURPEE BUSH TABLE QUEEN

 

We also just ordered passionfruit seeds.  I had never had passionfruit until Australia and we both loved it.  I was pretty surprised when one of our friends told us that one of his neighbors had a vine that produced really good fruit.  So we’ll be growing that on the side fence.  My one splurge with the seeds was the gourd order.  I saw these small, different colored gourds in the supermarket right around Halloween and the price was ridiculous.  I figure I would grow them in the front and let them grow up onto the front porch and then just give them away to our neighbors. 

And our seed planting starts tomorrow.  I need to start a bunch of plants early and then put them in the ground in March.  These will be 12 broccoli rabe and 12 cauliflower (6 plants each of these are definitely not enough for the two of us to eat!), 12 tomato, celery, the salvia and Celosia. 

I imagine we will have a pretty fantastic garden!

Oh, and I was so happy to see some little birds in my birdbath I built.  It is sitting on the front porch waiting for me to figure out where to put it, but I filled it full of water and that was all it took.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

