Happy Valentine’s Day!

I haven’t been blogging as much as usual–I am swamped with 5 classes worth of grading.  It seems like that is all I am doing.

I can’t believe that today is our 17th anniversary.  Not sure what we are doing tonight, but I am definitely not cooking!  Our new washer was delivered today (which I thought was kind of funny considering it is our anniversary and Valentine’s Day).  I am pretty excited about it.  It is a front loader, so our water use should drop by quite a bit.  We really need to get a new dishwasher as well, since the one we have must be 20 years old and I’m sure it sucks the water down.  It sounds like we are going to be in for a pretty serious water restriction this summer (even though it has been raining on and off for the last week and looks like it will rain on and off for the next week).  I would rather put our water on the garden than waste it on old appliances.

Speaking of the garden–the broccoli, cauliflower and salvia seeds have sprouted.  The broccoli came up after only about 4 days.  Now I just need to make sure they get enough sun and water to get them to survive until I can set them out when they get big enough.  I’m surprised they came up so quickly. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy Valentine’s Day!

  1. Cassie says:

    same to you and your husband, Kevin!(save me some cauliflower—I LIKE cauliflower)

  2. Kevin says:

    Hey Cass,Thanks! I will save you some cauliflower–especially since I planted 12 more seedlings! We just spent the afternoon gathering up about 2 cubic yards of woodchips for free. We\’ll use them as mulch once everything is planted and I was so excited to get some rhubarb. My grandparents used to have a giant patch and there is nothing better than rhubarb pie! We only got 4 plants, but that should give me enough to make a few pies…You like rhubarb pies, don\’t you?

  3. Cassie says:

    yes, very much!

Leave a Reply

