The Gate and Prop. 8

We spent most of yesterday building the frame for the gate in the side yard.  It took a good part of the afternoon since we decided to do a half lap joint, and we decided to do the joint with our router.  It worked out well and it is out in the driveway curing (we glued the joints together).  The gate will have a rounded top and we are going to make a little design for an opening at the top.  I think we will also attach some ceramic tiles to it that Doug’s dad made for us.

And on to Prop. 8.  The State Supreme Court issues its finding this morning at 10 am (2 hours away).  As my friend Deb has said, they can’t take away our union.  They can, however, take away the marriage.  It is ironic that it is the very same people who are fighting to make sure that gays and lesbians can’t stay married are the very same people who state that the glbt community can’t create families and stay together as couples.  That is what hate will do…

If Prop. 8 remains law, I may put my ring finger up for auction to the highest anti-gay bidder.  The deal will be that they can come to my house, rip up my marriage license and then we will have a ceremonial chopping off of my ring finger.  Of course there will have to be cameras there.  I don’t know if I’ll let them keep the ring though.  Maybe some of my anti-gay readers would like to do the honors?  It would probably make them feel better.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Gate and Prop. 8

  1. Cassie says:

    Sorry I\’ll have to miss that—already booked for the ceremonial waterboarding of Sean Hannity for that day 🙂

  2. Kevin says:

    Hey Cass! You mean you would rather see Sean Hannity than me? 😦 🙂

Leave a Reply

