Stung

We have one large palm tree left in the front yard.  About a month ago we noticed either bees or wasps living in that palm tree.  We trimmed some of the dead branches off the tree, but the bees/wasps didn’t bother us, so we figured they were bees.  But after today, I’m convinced they are wasps.  I was moving some dirt around from a high point to a low point in the front and I noticed a shoot coming up close to the palm tree.  I took a shovel to it and all of a sudden I heard this loud buzzing noise and felt pain at the top of my ear and shoulder.  I left right away and I had been stung.  I figured that if I left them alone they wouldn’t bother me.  But no such luck.  I guess now we are going to have to take the nest down.  Our neighbor Jim said they were wasps and he has been noticing more in his yard.  He gave me a can of spray to get rid of them but we have been holding off.  So tonight we spray and hope that takes care of them.  After getting the fence done I really don’t want to stay out of the yard.  I was also out there this morning planting a bunch of flowers I grew from seed.  I also found a foot and a half long zucchini—I’m not sure how it managed to get past me since I am usually checking the plants.  I’ll probably make zucchini fritters tonight.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Stung

  1. Robert says:

    Oh man I hate wasps! When I was a kid I got stung by one of those, and it hurt worse than anything I could remember, up until I saw NBC\’s fall lineup, which was almost as bad. I rather have a bee sting than a wasp, that\’s for sure!

  2. Deb says:

    It\’s even more annoying when you can\’t go outside your own backyard, not knowing where the nests are. I live in NY of course, and I cannot enjoy my deck to its fullest because the bees are coming from an unknown source. I have had bee guys come here and do their job, but no such luck. Bees are so important to our ecosystem, however it\’s sad that they sting so much! 😦 I totally feel your pain…literally.

  3. Kevin says:

    Hi Robert and Deb,These were definitely wasps. Doug and I went out and picked up some non-poisonous (at least to us!) wasp killer. We just sprayed it and the entire neighborhood now smells like mint! Hopefully it gets rid of them. My ear is still hurting…

  4. Justin says:

    I can empathize with you as I am highly allergic to wasp and bee stings. The next time you find a large zucchini try this receipie I think you might like it. Devon makes it when he finds a zucchini large enough. Its really great and it is a meal in itself. Baked Zuccini Squash1 med zuccini1 yellow onion sclicedTomatoes scliced4 sclices maple flavored bacon cut in 1/4sclices of swiss cheese (I have used mozzarella)buttersalt pepperother seasonings are optionalPreheat oven to 350Cut zuccini in half length wise shave the round part so it lays flat in baking dish cut side up season with salt and pepper put butter pieces on top slide in oven and bake for 20 min.pull out of oven place sclices of onoin on top of zuccini slip back in oven till onions are about 1/3 donepull out of oven put sclices of tomatoe on top of onion and put back in oven when tomatoes are half done pull out and put sclices of cheese on top of tomatoes.When cheese is hot and starting to melt pull out of oven criss cross sclices of maple flavored bacon. Slide it back in oven.Turn the oven to briol.You\’ll have to keep an eye on it now you want the bacon done but don\’t want a fire.Total cooking time will be 45 min – 1 hrServe this with a salad some good bread a nice wine.You have a whole meal veggies meat and dairy.I have used peppered bacon and canadian bacon on it and even did it without bacon. You get a little different flavor but its still good.

  5. Jeffrey says:

    I thought for sure someone would make a zucchini joke.

  6. Kevin says:

    Hey Justin,That recipe sounds really good! I\’ll have to try it next time. I made zucchini frittata last night (grated zucchini, 1/2 onion, 6 eggs, 1/2 cup parm. cheese, garlic salt) in a paella pan. I cooked the zucc. and the onion in the pan until they were soft. Then add the eggs, cheese, and salt and cook until the eggs are nearly set. Then broil until it is nicely browned on top. Hey Jeffrey! I was waiting for the jokes too! :)By the way, the non-pesticide wasp killer didn\’t get rid of them. Doug told me they were still out there today. He wants to try yet another can of that stuff (it sprays for about 30 seconds and is 7 dollars a can!). Now I just want to get the Raid!

  7. Robert says:

    Kevin, sometimes the cheap stuff like Raid works better!Of course I\’m a cheap ass though!

  8. Jeffrey says:

    A good zucchini is hard to find, but a hard zucchini (1.5ft!!) is … LOL! Glad you enjoyed your frittata.

  9. joe mark says:

    all you\’ll need is wine and bread

  10. Kevin says:

    Hey Robert–wanting Raid isn\’t being a cheapass! Doug is just stubborn. I was just out watering and it is probably my imagination, but there seem to be more wasps around . I also saw a wasp take down a bee while I was watering the mint. That means war. Raid it is!Hey Jeffrey and Joe, You are making me hungry…

Leave a Reply

