Our First Fig!

The garden has been producing buckets, especially buckets of zucchini.  I’ve been eating it 3 times a day and making Doug eat it for dinner every night.  Our tomatoes had a pretty good first crop, but I’ve had to toss dozens of tomatoes that turned white and then rotted.  Not sure what the problem is—but I am guessing the kind of seed we bought was not tested very well.

This afternoon I went out to pick a few poblano chilis and I noticed our new fig tree (which was only a stem about 1.5 feet tall in the spring) had a ripe fig on it.  There are at least 20 on the small tree, so I am guessing that once it reaches adulthood it will be a heavy producer.  We ate the ripe one tonight and it was pretty good.  I’m looking forward to making fig jam and broiling blue cheese over figs.

Here is what the fig looked like when we first planted it (it is the one stem in the front of the picture).  :

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Our First Fig!

  1. Rob says:

    Cool! I\’ve planted squash and peppers mostly. They seem to be off to a good start. I\’m looking forward to having a place we can call our own and I can plant more trees and perennials. So far I only have 2 tomato plants and they\’re a black Russian variety that I thought I\’d try in a container. John doesn\’t like tomatoes so it limits how many we use.

  2. Kevin says:

    I was pretty excited to see it. We\’ve been remodeling our bathroom so I haven\’t been spending too much time outside. And I planted way too many tomatoes (although the kind I started from seed don\’t seem to be doing very well with the second batch). Doug isn\’t a giant fan of them either–We have four cherry tomato plants (three were given to us) and I don\’t think he has eaten more than a few. Next year I will try not to plant so much…

  3. Rob says:

    What you don\’t freeze or dehydrate – they\’ll love you at work for.

Leave a Reply

