Happy New Year!

I can’t believe it has been since Dec. 3 when I last posted.  It has been a busy month.  Two courses finished up in the middle of December, and then my two other courses finished up the week before Christmas.  Then Doug has more surgery on his good shoulder.  We also had our nephew Chad here with us for a week and we had a great time with him.  It is too bad he couldn’t have stayed longer!

Now that all of my grading is finished, I’ve been swamped getting my other classes ready.  I’ll be teaching two at the university, one at Menlo College and I’ve been teaching Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire online since the end of November.  I also have to get this book manuscript finished!  It is getting closer…

It should be a good year next year.  We don’t have anything planned—at least in terms of vacations.  We are going to LA for a bit to visit our two good Australian friends who arrived on Christmas Day to pick up their brand new twins (born on Christmas eve).  They have a son who is two as well.  It will be great to see them.  Doug is then off to visit his parents for a week in February.  His mom is having total knee replacement and he is going to go up to give his parents a hand.  I had planned on going the week after but then this new teaching dropped in my lap.

We are still working on our other bathroom.  I am hoping it is finished by the end of January.  Then we tackle two bedrooms, unless the kitchen needs some emergency floor repair (which is might!).

And kind of a downer happened today.  I haven’t been online here for a while (as you can tell).  So I was making the rounds of my usual blogs and saw this little tidbit (I provided the link in the second line in case you want to see the real thing).  In case you don’t want to read the entire thing, you can find my name towards the bottom of this rant (I’ve bolded and underlined it):

Monday, December 28, 2009

Looking back, Part 1

With 2009 ending soon, and things somewhat at a lull, here’s a look back at the best, and worst, of the LGBT activist community.

The most notable has been the realization that there are indeed individuals seeking to redefine homosexuality and the equality movement based on their own narrow-minded views and or lifestyle.

And yes, I wrote lifestyle, again.

Why so?

Because those people going about it have been excluding people caught into the prison industrial complex, who don’t fall within a certain income bracket, subscribe to a certain political pseudo religious ideology or a combination of one or more of the former and latter.

This became ever more evident with the 40th anniversary of Stonewall this year with the whitewashing of blacks, Latinos, drag queens, and transgenders from their involvement in the 1969 riots.

According to some people, it was white shirt gay pre Log Cabin Republicans who started the ball rolling for equality.

Uh-huh.

The second most notable of the year involves Michael Airhart, editor of Truth Wins Out, a supposed equality organization. 

As covered here extensively, It seems that Airhart imagined himself as a demigod or something; When David Alex Nahmod approached Truth Wins Out with help on personal matter, Airhart used that as a wedge to turn David into a sycophant or disciple, albeit by citing a hate website run by anti-gay pedophiles and boylovers at my expense.

When David refused to comply, Airhart then blacklisted him as a contributing writer.

Some of you may be asking, what the fuck does David Nahmod have to do with five year old legal issues? OR, what does my five year old legal issue have to do with David? 

Not a fucking thing.

It’s just a tactic to create divisiveness, that’s all.

One would expect such from anti-gays, not from a so called equality advocate.

Airhart joins a list of other bloggers and activists who’ve done likewise; they include Joe Brummer, Kevin Kaatz, Alvin McEwen, Jeremy Hooper, Pam’s House Blend, Ex-Gay Watch, Box Turtle Bulletin, Bruce Garrett, Michael Rogers and many more.

That these people are an disgrace to gay activism is an understatement.

Part 2 coming up.

Blogged by Nelson G. at 12/28/2009 01:41:00 PM

I find this all very interesting in a weird way.  I am trying to think of where I was ‘redefine homosexuality and the equality movement based on their own narrow-minded views and or lifestyle.”  I think most of my posts this year were either about marriage equality or about my garden.  I don’t recall trying to redefine who a homosexual was.  If NG doesn’t like marriage equality, then my message to him is to not get married.  I can’t recall anyone in the gay community calling marriage equality narrow minded.  Oh well.  I guess there are all kinds of people out there.

Nelson Garcia also had this to say:

“Because those people going about it have been excluding people caught into the prison industrial complex, who don’t fall within a certain income bracket, subscribe to a certain political pseudo religious ideology or a combination of one or more of the former and latter.  This became ever more evident with the 40th anniversary of Stonewall this year with the whitewashing of blacks, Latinos, drag queens, and transgenders from their involvement in the 1969 riots. According to some people, it was white shirt gay pre Log Cabin Republicans who started the ball rolling for equality.”

He seems to include me in this, although I don’t believe I have ever written about the Log Cabin Republicans.  However, I have written about the Stonewall Riots and about those who took part (including drag queens and transgenders).  I also teach about the Stonewall Riots.  I guess some people just like to complain instead of actively trying to make things better.

I also have no clue who David Nahmod or Airhart is.  No clue at all.  I’ve never written about them anywhere.  I do, however, read Truth Wins Out.  Maybe I should pay more attention to who is actually doing the writing.  Then again, it doesn’t matter to me all that much (obviously).

He thinks I create divisiveness?  Hmm.  I haven’t heard that before.  I do have to say that I am pretty proud to be thrown into a group with Joe Brummer, Alvin McEwen, Jeremy Hooper, Pam’s House Blend, Ex-Gay Watch, Box Turtle Bulletin, Bruce Garrett, and Michael Rogers.  Are they gay activists?  Yes.  Are they a disgrace?  Well, no, to put it bluntly.  If you are interested in complaining about everything and burning bridges and then complaining that the bridge was burned and then calling that gay activism, then that is your business.  However, I try to see things differently.  And I am happy to be included in a group that does likewise.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Happy New Year!

  1. David Alexander says:

    Hi, David Alex Nahmod here. This post came up in a Google search of me.For one year I wrote for Truth Wins Out. I also asked TWO news directorMichael Airhart for help: my ex is on SSI for mental illness. He lives with an anti-gay conservative family who use his disabilities as a control device. They\’ve withheld his mail behind his back & have gotten him to sign falsified documents he cannot read. None of his friends can reach him anymore.At first Airhart gave me support, then withdrew it and banned me from posting at TWO, making threats against my writing career in the process~~I write for three LGBT print publications and the Jerusalem Post, an international daily.Airhart did this because I would not take part in his personal vendetta against NG, (neither Airhart nor I have ever met NG) and because I speak out against some of the deplorable infighting and hatemongering going on in the LGBT community.NG had some legal problems around 5 years ago~~these problems had nothing to do with me or Airhart.NG has since changed his life for the better, yet Airhart insists on "warning" people about NG, behavior I find shameful.A few sites have banned NG based on rumors and innuendo about his past, so the dude is angry. Very angry. And hurt.Can you blame him?Mr. Kaatz, I never heard of you before that post either.While NG is right on the money about some others, I suspect he may be mistaken about you.A lot of people have vilified him for his past. Few will let him move on & make a fresh start.So, how about we start the New Year fresh & be friends, all of us?Happy New Year to you and your partner.Or is it husband?Happy New Year to both of you!(-:BTW, if you\’d like to hear the whole story about my ex and his evil housemates, I\’m happy to share~~it\’s a shocker!

  2. Kevin says:

    Hi David! I have heard of your story–I just didn\’t connect the dots with the names. The whole thing with your partner sounds so awful. I hope 2010 will be better.I have to admit I was a bit surprised that NG wrote about me. We barely have any contact (he sends me 2-3 emails a year informing me about certain anti-gay characters). I have stuck up for NG in the past, but he always pretends that I have never done it (even when I provide proof), so I don\’t know what his problem is. I\’ve written in his defense. I even voted against a law that would prevent child molesters from living where they want–I fully believe that if someone has paid the penalty with prison, they should be allowed to live free (but of course, if they committ crimes again, then the deal is off!). He always lumps me in with people he thinks hate him and it is a mystery why he does that. But he burns bridges. So I will let him deal with the consequences. I think the problem is that Joe Brummer and I are friends. But I was telling the truth when I said I was happy to be in the group of \’disgraced\’ activists. Sorry to hear about Airhart and his treatment of you. I don\’t know what interaction Airhart and NG have had in the past, but clearly something happened between them that hasn\’t come out yet. Anyway, thanks for the New Years Wishes! Doug and I were married in July 2008 and luckily the marriage survived despite the passing of Prop. 8. I hope you have a better year than this past one! Take care and thanks for writing.Kevin

  3. Joe says:

    Hey Kevin, I hope you and Doug have a wonderful New Year Year. I have to say, I feel happy to be included in a list that contains your name!

  4. Kevin says:

    Hey Joe! I hope you guys are off to a great 2010! Any plans on coming out to California?I start teaching on Monday, so the break is quickly ending. But I am guessing it is going to be a very good 2010.That was a weird post by NG. Oh well. I don\’t know him and he doesn\’t know me. It doesn\’t really matter in the long run! I\’ll blog about what I like regardless of what some dislike. I am glad that David wrote.

  5. Joe says:

    I wish I had a plan to come to CA. It is 20 degrees here and snowing! I think its is great to hear you are teaching and working. How\’s the book coming?NG mentions me every so often and I don\’t really get it. I don\’t know him either. I also don\’t know that much about his legal problems or other issues although he writes about me like he knows me. I can only assume it makes him feel better to write negative stuff about me. Reality is, he doesn\’t know me and I don\’t know him.Enjoy the new year! I do hope to make it out to CA one of these days. Hopefully you and Doug can have lunch with Rick and I.

  6. David Alexander says:

    Hey Kevin: I see while I was sleeping off my drunken New Year\’s Eve stupor, this thread got a little action, LOL!If you teach at Menlo College, then we both live in the Bay Area~~I\’m in Downtown SF, dodging traffic & panhandlers everyday!You may know my writing work: I do about a story a month for Bay Area Reporter in SF & two stories per issue for ON Mag in San Jose/Santa Cruz.Got anything interesting going on that I could write about?(-:RE: NG: last week my ex\’s anti-gay housemates put up a "Christian" blog about him. Neither they, you or I would ever have known about NG\’s past had people like Michael Airhart not done their "duty". Can you imagine how NG must feel?And that\’s no isolated incident.I think what you said about giving him a second chance until he repeats his past mistakes is spot on. Well, he served his time & was released fair & square. It\’s five years later, and he\’s done nothing else wrong. So why won\’t Airhart & others leave him be?And why did Airhart make threats against my writing career?Shame on Airhart!Those threats got me right into NG\’s corner.I\’ve never met NG< but when I picture him, I see a tear stained pillow. He\’s a broken man.He lives a life of complete isolation. He doesn\’t know who he can trust.I do email with him, and I can tell you that nothing more than a kind word turns him into a different person, a better person.When I was asking gay activists & gay rights groups fo help RE: my ex and his housemates, I was uniformly laughed at. I understand that not everyone can help, but many people responded by making fun of the fact that Beecher & I are not together. Then they said: "and if you criticize me, then you\’re homophobic".I was stunned.There were times when I lost my cool and honestly, I came across as NG does.Under the circumstances………No community, no person is perfect, including me. But LGBTs should not be hurting other LGBTs. I\’m seeing far too many LGBTs hurting each other for the fun or "empowerment" of it, and they\’ve turned this behavior into a "gay right."I suspect that the rising levels of meth/alcohol abuse and mental illness in the community are being fueled by the pain people feel from so much of this kind of behavior.When does it become OK for me, NG, or others, to say we want something better than this?Again, NG is clearly wrong about you, but he\’s spot on about others. Let\’s give him the kindness he seeks & needs.If he doesn\’t fuck up, and he hasn\’t so far, then let\’s let him live his life in peace.Speaking in general erms, I think it\’s time for all LGBTs to look into their hearts & talk about the elephant in the room: the way we\’ve been treating each other and what it\’s done to us.It\’s time for something better.Peace & love to you & your husband.Would you guys ever want me meet for Java?(-:

  7. Kevin says:

    Hey David,Getting together for coffee sounds like a good idea.

Leave a Reply

